Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: 6R80 shifting early issue

  1. #1
    Advanced Tuner WS6HUMMER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pineville La. US
    Posts
    715

    6R80 shifting early issue

    2011 F150, bone stock just trying to get a little extra power out of it and I cannot get the trans to shift where I want it.
    The only thing I have not tried adjusting was the "Cooling Reduction Shift Schedule", but I have no idea why it would be using that table all the time.
    Any help would be much appreciated. log 5.hpltrans tune.hpt

  2. #2
    What size tire are you running? You MPH seems awfully high to me especially in 1st.

  3. #3
    Advanced Tuner WS6HUMMER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pineville La. US
    Posts
    715
    Quote Originally Posted by blackbolt22 View Post
    What size tire are you running? You MPH seems awfully high to me especially in 1st.
    31.4,
    275 55 20, stock size I presume, & I subtract .5 for sidewall deformation if it?s not a real low profile sidewall. 3.55 is the final drive ratio. I?ve progressively went up on shift schedule mph trying to make it shift later with no luck.
    Last edited by WS6HUMMER; 2 Weeks Ago at 09:46 AM. Reason: Diction

  4. #4
    Advanced Tuner WS6HUMMER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pineville La. US
    Posts
    715
    Found this thread https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...g-Tip-N-V-Base
    I can say that the VID block is enabled now but know from personal experience that if I disable the VID block on a 2011 that I will loose the manual shift function. I did it on another 2011 before just trying to re-calibrate the speedometer and after speaking with an HPT engineer about the problem was told to re-enable the VID block, the manual shift function was then back.
    99 T/A WS6 GT4788,TH400, TR224, Stock Motor.
    Dynocom DC15000 with Frenelsa F16 retarder

  5. #5
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by WS6HUMMER View Post
    Found this thread https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...g-Tip-N-V-Base
    I can say that the VID block is enabled now but know from personal experience that if I disable the VID block on a 2011 that I will loose the manual shift function. I did it on another 2011 before just trying to re-calibrate the speedometer and after speaking with an HPT engineer about the problem was told to re-enable the VID block, the manual shift function was then back.
    So how do we get around this issue when changing gear ratios? I am having the same issue with a 2013 F150.

  6. #6
    Advanced Tuner WS6HUMMER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pineville La. US
    Posts
    715
    Quote Originally Posted by MaximumVelocity View Post
    So how do we get around this issue when changing gear ratios? I am having the same issue with a 2013 F150.
    You can change the gear ratio & tire size through the scanner WITH the VID block enabled & that works just fine. The only reason that I have found to disable the VID block is to address the non-response to changing the shift schedule. I haven't tried it yet but will sometime this week & post how it went.
    99 T/A WS6 GT4788,TH400, TR224, Stock Motor.
    Dynocom DC15000 with Frenelsa F16 retarder

  7. #7
    Advanced Tuner WS6HUMMER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pineville La. US
    Posts
    715
    So I tested this out, disabled the VID block, defined the gear ratio and tire circumference, & bumped the trans rpm limit 600rpm over where I wanted to shift the trans and it shifted higher but not exactly at the rpm or speed that I wanted & it closed the throttle on the shifts sometimes.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by WS6HUMMER View Post
    So I tested this out, disabled the VID block, defined the gear ratio and tire circumference, & bumped the trans rpm limit 600rpm over where I wanted to shift the trans and it shifted higher but not exactly at the rpm or speed that I wanted & it closed the throttle on the shifts sometimes.
    At that point you're likely hitting a limit...

  9. #9
    Advanced Tuner WS6HUMMER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pineville La. US
    Posts
    715
    Quote Originally Posted by blackbolt22 View Post
    At that point you're likely hitting a limit...

    Yes when it happens the torque source goes to engine speed but all RPM limiter's have been raised to 7000 or 7100. Even the trans RPM limit and by gear have both been raised to 7000. I would think that's plenty far enough away from 63-6400 where I'm wanting the shift to happen. I just messed with it again last night, I can raise the NV up and it makes it shift later but it closes the throttle and act's like it's hitting a limiter that I can't see with the HPT software.

    I did notice that under the OS tab there's an RPM limit patch, anyone know about this?
    99 T/A WS6 GT4788,TH400, TR224, Stock Motor.
    Dynocom DC15000 with Frenelsa F16 retarder

  10. #10
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    13
    On truck I was working on I ended up re-enabling the VID block and just changing the gear ratio and tire size with Forscan app. Fixed my shift issues of shifting to late causing throttle to close and act like limiter. The patch is to run over 7700rpms I believe so that wont help in your case.

  11. #11
    Advanced Tuner WS6HUMMER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pineville La. US
    Posts
    715
    Quote Originally Posted by MaximumVelocity View Post
    On truck I was working on I ended up re-enabling the VID block and just changing the gear ratio and tire size with Forscan app. Fixed my shift issues of shifting to late causing throttle to close and act like limiter. The patch is to run over 7700rpms I believe so that wont help in your case.
    So this is a known issue that has no real fix then?
    99 T/A WS6 GT4788,TH400, TR224, Stock Motor.
    Dynocom DC15000 with Frenelsa F16 retarder

  12. #12
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    13
    Based on email with support that would be a correct statement.