Thread: 2014 Focus ST New to tuning looking for tips

Tuner in Training

2014 Focus ST New to tuning looking for tips

Hello everyone,

I am currently fighting with the several limit source's. Basically I am just getting started.

I have read the 3.5 tuning manual and the cobb strategy multiple times, but I don't have a complete understanding of everything yet. I am having a lot of fun experimenting though.

The car has 20k miles and the current mods are:
    Front mount intercooler
    3in cat back exhaust (I will be installing my 3in cat less downpipe soon)
    Drop in cone filter
    aluminum intercooler piping
    50/50 Blow off valve (Connected to factory vacuum line)
    Short throw shifter

First computer mod that I did was add a two step at 2k rpm and I love it. (The tuning school youtube)

After that it has been mostly trial and error with a lot of learning and minimal success.

My biggest concern is that I can't seem to find very much information on what to look out for in terms of major red flags.
    An example of this is that I understand to watch the cylinder knock 1-4 and compare decreasing values to the drop in ignition advance. But I don't know what is considered acceptable.
    When I first started to adjust things I went out for the first drive and seen negative values and scared myself because I didn't know what normal was. So I did some stock logs for comparison, but it doesn't tell me what the actual limits are. So this makes me nervous.

Please take a look at what I have done so far and let me know your thoughts. Again I am very new and trying to make sure I'm not adjusting something that I really shouldn't be touching.

Thank you.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Tuner in Training
    OK, after rereading some other posts I decided to start from the stock file again.

I am now getting the anticlunk tipin torque limit. I have adjusted the torque limit timer from 2 to 5 seconds, I will see if this helps tomorrow on the way to work.