Thread: where do i even begin???

Potential Tuner

where do i even begin???

So first off let me just say that i am a 100% noob, I started reading thru all the tuning forums and car forums trying to learn everything I could in my search of power and efficiency(ok, mostly power, lol). I scanned my car (2004 Monte Carlo SS L67) after resetting the LTFT's and letting them relearn for abou 40-50 miles and now my LTFT's are extremly rich, it was my understanding that they would start to get closer to 0 as they learned. Do I need to wait a little longer for them to learn more or is there something wrong here? Like i stated before, im a total noob to this so please bear with me.

Trims do not have to do anything, they are only reporting back what the engine is doing.

If the trims are rich, there could be several reasons for it. Like a dirty MAF sensor, leaking injectors, leaking fuel pressure regulator, a front o2 sensor that is reading improperly. Rare chance that you have too much fuel pressure too, so it's pushing in more fuel than it thinks it is each time the injector opens.

Could even be the fact that you are running way too cold of thermostat and the engine is not getting hot enough to help completely burn off the fuel. 160-170 at cruising speeds is way too cold in my opinion. I always ran a stock thermostat in my GTP because 190-200 is the sweet spot for coolant temps if you ask me. I always altered the fan settings to prevent the coolant from reaching over 212-215 sitting still and even that is not considered hot by any means.

If you do some check overs and things seem okay, just yank 3-5% from the entire MAF curve and it'll bring those fuel trims from -10-20% way down.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Senior Tuner cobaltssoverbooster's Avatar