Thread: Need help tuning my 08 G8GT 6L80 before doing engine

Potential Tuner

Need help tuning my 08 G8GT 6L80 before doing engine

I got a one owner 08 G8GT a couple months ago with 67000 original miles. It has a CAI and muffler delete and that's it. I originally got a Diablosport i3 tuner but found it very limited on the tranny. I found that my son already had the HPTuner so we have been playing with it some. The biggest problem I am having is massive flare in 1-2 and 2-3 shifts at WOT. It runs right up to the rev limiter. It drives me crazy. I have turned off the DOD and done some small changes to the tranny but need some help from someone who has more experience with these than me. I have been doing some Harley fuel injection tuning but this car is something else. I wish I could just take the car and have everything done I want done but I am a disabled vet and living on a fixed government income sucks. I am just really happy to finally have the car though, after looking for 2 years. I hope that my tune posts here. If not, shoot me an email and tell me how to do it. Thanks.
    Nick King
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files

Sometimes I can get rid of the flare by adjusting a few of the pressure settings within the transmission parameters.

Look for the base shift pressure upshift pattern x. You can try slowly increasing the values, like 3-5% at at time to try and get a quicker shift. I don't like to go crazy there through, not much over 15-20% increase.

Next look at the on-coming pressure presets. Do the same thing, add like 5% to each shift. That table is labeled as 0,1,2 and from what I can come up with it uses more pressure as the load/rpms are higher but it does not give you exact specifics on it.

Sometimes I even lower the shift torque factor by 10% as well.