Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: newb e40 speed density question

newb e40 speed density question

hey guys i am a newb to hp tuners. i just bought the tunning schools gm tuning for beginners. I am putting a torqstorm blower on my 2005 gto. I bought the DPE 2.5 bar map sensor. Which OS do i use 2 or 3? I have not even loaded my stock tune with hp tuners. I am taking my time and trying to learn as much as i can before i start. I have seen GEN 3 speed density videos but no GEN 4.

The E40 is like a hybrid between a gen 3 and gen 4 computer. It shares tons of the same tables and looks when comparing them.

Those blowers will make under 15 psi of boost and more like 8-9psi depending on engine rpm so to me it's a better idea to run the 2 bar OS.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

So should i ditch the 2.5 DPE map and buy a 2 bar. Or can i still use the 2.5 bar map with the 2 bar OS or can i run it on a 3 bar system? Sorry for the questions but i am new to this.

The sensor can be whatever you want it to be, the data just has to match it in the calibration.

You could run a 3 bar MAP sensor on a NA car if you really wanted too.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

ok cool. thanks for the info. I have all winter to research before i try to tune the gto. i will keep looking things up and reading all i can.

The DPE sensor is fine. They should have provided the specs to put in your tune. Under Engine--Airflow--Map---change the Map sensor Linear and Map sensor Offset to the numbers supplied with your map sensor. If you ditch the MAF sensor, be sure and split off the IAT sensor into the intake stream just before the Throttle body. It is required for calcs. You have a 2 bar upgrade that you can select and it is free. Have fun!
    2000 Camaro SS 2015 L83 port injected, Whipple 3.0, 4L80E, 8.8 Ford