Thread: 411 swapped, now 4L60e swap

Tuner

411 swapped, now 4L60e swap

Hey guys, I’m new to HP Tuners, and this is my first post.

I have a 1983 K5 Blazer with a 1997 Vortec 5.7, 1983 700r4/NP208.

I did the 411 swap using the Painless harness that was previously running my engine. The Painless harness came pre wired for a 4L60e.

For the 411 swap, I used the Express Van tune to get me started, then cleaned it up, tuned for the cam, etc.

I now want to go 4L60e. I?ve been reading up on the 3 main styles of 4L60e and haven?t come up with much as far as controlling the thing.

Finally, my question:

Which 4L60e do I need? I would like to run the 2 piece case with 6 bolt out put as it is has a beefier housing and is readily available pretty much on every corner.

Will my 411 run it basically plug and play once I add the VSS?

Anything with PWM for the TCC to think about?

Adapters to bolt up the flywheel/converter?

It sounds like all the bell housings will bolt up provided I have the correct flywheel and converter.

Sorry to post such a long winded first go at it.
    Last edited by wlwarnke; 01-08-2019 at 07:20 PM.

Tuner
    A few months ago, I purchased a 2wd 4L60e core, it is a 1998 model, that originally came behind a SBC. I also picked up 4x4 output shaft, and a master rebuild kit, transgo calibration kit, an ATSG manual, as few tools, went at it. I finally finished the rebuild last week by bolting on the AA VSS adapter. All in all, it wasn't too difficult of a job and I was able to make quite a few improvement over stock.

I have the new tune ready to go, by basically doing a compare to a stock Express van, and then using the speedo tool to reset all the shift tables. Hopefully, I can do this transplant in the next week or so. ( Just borrowed a tranny jack from a buddy.)

4L60e.jpgVB.jpgVSS.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

Tuner