Thread: command open loop boost control fg

Potential Tuner

command open loop boost control fg

hey fellas

starting out in the falcon tuning side of things (been doing gm up intill now) and i cant seem to find where to force the car into openloop boost control to setup the wastegate duty pressure.

i found a setting called "turbo logic, enable/disable" is that it?

i also got told theres a vct angle to boost error table that should be disabled when doing openloop boost control but i wasnt able to find that table in the tune?

operating system is = HAEDLL8

cheers

Tuner in Training
    Leave turbo logic enabled.

The areas I would be looking under are "Airflow" - "Pressure Control" and also "Turbochargerl"
    "Torque Management" - "SC/TC Boost Control"

Download a couple of modified strategies from the repository and do a compare with an unmodified tune. Hopefully someone more knowledgeable can chime in soon and add to and or correct the above, I'm a beginner here too sorry.

Tuner in Training
    ok so when I first started here I went through most of the posts and copied what seemed relevant into a text document. I hope this helps.

SOURCE = https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...60-Tuning-n00b

Boost control:

Most tuners seem to run open loop boost control, however when street tuning its easy to dial in your boost in closed loop using the 'desired boost' table (its in inches of mercury and a rough duty cycle estimate and then log wastegate duty cycle, boost error, desired boost etc in a number of gears and then work out what dutycycle it likes for what rpm and the 'desired' boost level you have commanded. This gives good data on approximate wastegate duty cycle if you switch to open loop. The only thing to look out for is if you go straight open loop (i.e. you're only running off the duty cycle table) is that you may need to command a little less duty cycle at 2500rpm compared to what the pcm calculates in closed loop.....which is normally 100%.