Thread: Dead Fuel Trims, Non switching 02 sensors and stuck on 9mv..

Tuner in Training

Dead Fuel Trims, Non switching 02 sensors and stuck on 9mv..

Hi guys, im very new to Tuning, i do know basics.
    The car is a 2007 MK2 FPV GT Supercharged..
    Had it on a Dyno 8 months ago, and drove well for a while and from time to time it would idle and cruise badly, but it would eventually clear up..
    Power pulls were no problem.. 2 month ago i fitted a wide band gauge and all was well.. AFR was 14.7 and low 12s on pulls..
    Then the next day the engine was rocking on idle again and the AFR was 9.5 for a moment then sitting on 10.5 but on pulls no problem.. 12.2
    It would come good most of the time within 30 mins to 14.7..
    A week later it happens again then eventually all is good again and so on.
    Then last week it was permament with 11.3 on idle and cruising, no ploblem on power pulls at 12.3 ...
    I decided to purchase the MPVI2 hardware and found the fuel trims not active.. 02 sitting on 9mv ..
    I removed the battery leads for 5 mins and reconnect the battery, started the car and AFRs are perfect.. The fuel trims are active and the 02 sensors switching between 4.5mv..
    Short Fuel Trims running close to zero but Long Fuel Trims sitting on -25% ?? Seemed like compensation ? But the car was running well..
    Drove the car with no problems.. Tonight i thought id setup the Bluetooth to my Laptop and paired up nicely..
    Opened up the VCM Scanner and noticed the Trims displayed Not Ready? Started the car and 02s not switching and short trims trying to work while the long trims were at zero, then faulted and the AFRs dropped to 10.1
    Turn key off then on, engine off and Trims are Not Ready, short trims are on 25% ..long trims at zero.. 02 sensors roughly .003v
    If i start the engine the 02s are dead, trims goes to Fault..
    If i disconnect the battery hence rebooting the ECU, it will post and run perfectly.. ?? Well for a little while..