Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 5.3 with LS9 cam and LS6 springs will not idle correctly (rich) PLEASE HELP!!!!!

Tuner in Training

5.3 with LS9 cam and LS6 springs will not idle correctly (rich) PLEASE HELP!!!!!

Hi, this is my first time posting on any forum but i really need some help.

This is my first build really to dive in to the automotive world, learn how to build motors and add stupid amounts of power.
    Build was going great, small trips along the way but everything was fine ..... up until the tune came along.

i have a 5.3L Gen 3 Truck iron block with LS9 cam and LS6 springs
    LS1 intake
    ebay 42# injectors but i feel like they weren't helping on the tune department so i reverted back to stock truck injectors.
    External fuel pump.

At first the car would run fine, AEM gauge read 11 sometimes 10 i know thats really rich but the car sounded somewhat healthy so as my attempts started go towards a mid 13 or low 14 the car did not what to stay running. would often dip to the 20s or not read anything. would surge like crazy on start ups and then dip to the 10s.
    The motor surging is really what kills me.
    Ill admit i don't know what i'm looking at but dammit I work on this car pretty much everyday and i really want to learn.
    So if i can get some help I would be eternally grateful!!

I Will try to attach the file i keep on messing with along side some of my Logs if that helps!

I should also add the spark plugs are BLACK!!! they were brand new but it ran way too rich, not sure if that would cause it to not run properly.

Please and Thank you
    Try 4 Camaro ish tune Base v3.hpttest 13.hpltest 11 idles at high 11.hpl

Tuner in Training
    In log "test 13.hpl" your B2S1 02 sensor isn't reading correctly or you have a massive exhaust leak.

Tuner in Training