Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Total Newb Here, Duh...Check This Out Please

Tuner

Total Newb Here, Duh...Check This Out Please

Got the engine running and the scanner hooked up. If anyone knows anything about what they see on this video, feel free to speak up. Had to stop short because the rad cap was loose, spewed antifreeze and threw the belt.

5.3 liter DBW Gen III, 6.0 liter camshaft. Fresh rebuild.

Tuner
    Here's a video of it running yesterday:

Intake or exhaust leak on bank one. Or fuel pressure is not correct.

Or that o2 sensor is dead. You need to add the o2 sensor to the logs to verify if the sensor is working.

The short term trim was adding in 55% if it is indeed reading right. The long term trim was pegged at +25 as well.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Tuner
    Thanks.

Only problem is I'm not familiar with short term trims, nothing. Sorry. All I've done so far is delete VATS to get it started.
    Oh, I just got that ST and LT stand for short term and long term.
    What are they supposed to be adding? How about the ST and LT numbers on bank 2? Are they normal?

Should there be readings on the KR, TPS, O2's and the injectors also?

I did find a PO300 code, Random Misfire.

Yes, add all those other channels. Those are very important channels to log as they are directly related to how things function within the computer and the tables you read in the file.

Generally speaking, trims should be within 3-5% of zero most of the time. Colder days, hotter days, humidity and other variables can skew those numbers slightly higher or lower. It's when you see +15 or -15 or in this case +25/55 you can tell you have a major issue on hand if all the sensors are working.

The misfire code for sure needs to be checked on, that can cause the trims to act crazy if say the injector is not firing or the spark plug/wire/coil is not working.