Thread: 68rfe sprag fix/lr clutch adjustment

Potential Tuner

68rfe sprag fix/lr clutch adjustment

Hey everybody Im rather new to tuning and looking for a few answers to some questions on the transmission side of things. So I recently acquired a 07.5 6.7 with the 68rfe, but it shifts way too low (lugs) and Im afraid to push it very hard with all of the horror stories about the low reverse sprag. My question is what is the magic number for the upper end of the lr clutch? I have the stock file read out and saved and have been messing with it a bit. But if I change the value for the lr if it shifts for second will it not disengage untill it reaches the set value? Im kind of stumped here and definitely dont want to set the value too high and burn clutches. Sorry for punctuation spellcheck only helps so much.
    Last edited by Johnsonboys97; 04-08-2019 at 12:48 AM.

Banned
    Raising your upshift and downshift points, lockup and unlock points is the key to keep it from lugging

Tuner in Training
    256 is what Dodge updated the newer trucks to. You can go higher, but there is the risk that if something fails you could end up with the low/reverse clutch applied when it shifts. It would normally never happen, because that passage does exist in the valve body. You can data log and see what is the maximum output shaft speed is when your truck does the 1-2 shift. If you keep the value below that, you will be safe.

Paul

Potential Tuner
    Paul that is exactly the details I was Looking for thank you.

Potential Tuner
    Everything I?ve read says to raise lr to 900-950 so that it stays engaged thru the 1-2 shift..

I just tuned an 07.5 and I set it like that and it?s working great....

I have my upper limit set at 1500. Not sure if it is right, but I have never had an issue with the 1-2 shift.
    2019 CCSB Bighorn - Excited HP Tuners finally supported Cummins CM2350&2450 platforms

Banned
    I have mine even higher than that and haven?t had any issues either