Thread: Knockng When Going WOT

Tuner in Training

Knockng When Going WOT

Hi guys, this is my first real tune. The car is a 2010 Camaro LS3/M6. It has a Huron Speed twin turbo kit with 58/62mm turbos, otherwise, the engine is stock. I'm tuning MAF only OL with PE enabled. I'm getting knock retard anytime I mash the throttle. I'm down to 8 degrees of timing on 11ish lbs of boost. Turning the boost down still has knock and turning it up makes more knock, so I'm guessing the knock is real. I run 93 octane (up to 10% ethanol) with no meth. Is 8 degrees of timing still too much? Or am I missing something. Whats odd is it starts knocking long before it even commands PE or drops timing, so by the time it gets to PE and the timing drops, its already pulling more. Attached is the tune and latest log. Thanks a ton!
    Attached Files Attached Files

Cant open your tune file.

I'm no expert and my application is different but I do have the same heads with a turbo.

I looked at your logs and your timing is doing some weird stuff and it plummets from 20+ degrees to 6 degrees in one frame when you go into boost. Check your adders and smooth out your table.

Your fueling is pretty lean in a few spots like 1.06 when commanding 1.0 at 2600rpm part throttle causing knock and the knock is carrying through even after it richens up.

Your PE ramp must be at 2? Lower the PE enable so it comes in sooner and lower the ramp rate to 1.5ish so it will start to richen up before you come into boost and then be to your commanded by the time the boost starts to ramp up.

I had to drop timing with the turbo compared to NA even before boost. I dropped 1-4 degrees from .40g down to the boost regions from 1800rpm to redline to get rid of knock.

Tuner in Training