Thread: 2015 Coyote: "Piston Rattle" table

2015 Coyote: "Piston Rattle" table

I'm still new at this for please forgive me asking perhaps a stupid question. I was going through my stock tune and comparing it to FRPP 3 and noticed that the "Piston Rattle" tables were zeroed out in the FRPP tune. The stock tables have quite a bit of retard built into them. If it's just to eliminate piston rattle noise, then I'd prefer more power over noise

Is this something I can safely zero out? Or would the FRPP (For whatever reason) compensate by adding retard somewhere else?

I should add that the FRPP 3 is a poor tune for me to compare to because I am still running the stock manifold and stock throttle body (But with a steeda cold air intake). I can't find a FRPP 1 or FRPP 2 tune in the repository. (If anybody has one to share, I would greatly appreciate it).

Thank you for your thoughts!

Advanced Tuner
    Its safe to zero out. Piston rattle is when the piston bounces off the cylinder walls instead of going straight up and down..

Thank you, I just saw the reply.
    Sorry for asking a lot of probably stupid questions, I'm trying to learn. Thank you in advance for any information you have provided me

Potential Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by Thatwhite5.0 View Post
    Its safe to zero out. Piston rattle is when the piston bounces off the cylinder walls instead of going straight up and down..
    Sorry for my ignorance but isn't that going to hurt the engine?

Quote Originally Posted by mudar View Post
    Tuning will hurt your engine in general.

Senior Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by mudar View Post
    Its normal for pistons to rattle to one degree or another, it mostly goes undetected, and causes very minimal wear, but engines need proper clearances, and things tend to take the path of least resistance when pressure in the cylinder isn't consistent.