Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Cant upload tune file to car

  1. #1
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    5

    Cant upload tune file to car

    Hello
    This is my first post as i am new to this world and i hope i am posting in the right place.

    My problem is when trying to write the tune to the car it stops and a says timmed out and car cant even start after that,
    Then i pulled out the ecu and try to write it on a bench wiring and its fine.
    So WHY CANT I WRITE AS THE ECU ON THE CAR AND CAN WRITE THE SAME ECU ON BENCH WIRING?

    2003 GMC Sierrra
    MPVI 2
    Last edited by Tawashco; 04-28-2019 at 07:47 PM.

  2. #2
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,136
    LIkely a wiring issue with the vehicle from the sounds of it.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  3. #3
    Tuning Addict 5FDP's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Rogers, MN
    Posts
    8,065
    Anything aftermarket on the truck?

    Like alarm or radio?
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

  4. #4
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@HPTuners View Post
    LIkely a wiring issue with the vehicle from the sounds of it.
    I still can read, scan and data log, is it possible to do all that with wiring issue?
    The only thing that i cant do is uploading tune file!

  5. #5
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by 5FDP View Post
    Anything aftermarket on the truck?

    Like alarm or radio?
    Aftermarket radio with RP5 adapter only

  6. #6
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,136
    Quote Originally Posted by Tawashco View Post
    I still can read, scan and data log, is it possible to do all that with wiring issue?
    The only thing that i cant do is uploading tune file!
    Absolutely, yes.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  7. #7
    Tuning Addict 5FDP's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Rogers, MN
    Posts
    8,065
    Remove the radio fuse and try again.

    Anything aftermarket like that is trouble with the 2003-2007 trucks.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

  8. #8
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    PAC NWest
    Posts
    334
    I have that problem on a Chrysler. It begins the write with an erase, then times out. So I'm kinda dead in the water at that point.

    I found that if I disconnect the TCM connector from the ECM it writes fine.

  9. #9
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by 5FDP View Post
    Remove the radio fuse and try again.

    Anything aftermarket like that is trouble with the 2003-2007 trucks.
    I will try it and let you know

  10. #10
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    5
    I found that the clock spring is damaged (open circuit). Could it be the problem?