Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Mpvi pro dead

  1. #1
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    353

    Mpvi pro dead

    Just had my mpvi pro try and do a firmware update and freeze in the middle of doing it. Now it won?t connect and it seems like it?s dead, it is about six years old so I don?t care about getting a new one but can I transfer all of my old credits?

  2. #2
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Swansea Wales UK
    Posts
    119
    I plugged mine in after about 6 months of non use, it did some sort of upgrade and wouldn't connect to car, I rebooted the laptop and all was fine, give that a try ?
    Gen3 L59/4L60E LS3 cast manifolds, Small Cam change, 2800 Convertor, MPVI, using MTX-L for wideband tuning

  3. #3
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    353
    I didn?t try a reboot but I tried my other laptop and still didn?t work, is there a manual firmware update we can do?

  4. #4
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Swansea Wales UK
    Posts
    119
    There may be ? just go direct to https://www.hptuners.com/downloads/
    Gen3 L59/4L60E LS3 cast manifolds, Small Cam change, 2800 Convertor, MPVI, using MTX-L for wideband tuning

  5. #5
    I'm having the same exact issue. Firmware upgrade won't complete no matter what I do, and now interface can't be found when I try to connect. Stranded at the drag strip as I type this.

    mvpi firmware update failed.png
    Last edited by Tapout Tuning; 05-10-2019 at 06:58 PM.
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP (first 3800 FWD in the tens), 9.499 @ 145.13 mph
    1998 Pontiac Firebird (first 3800 RWD in the eights), 843 whp, 8.991 @ 152.12 mph, driven by Tim King
    1999 Pontiac Grand Prix GT (first 3800 FWD in the eights), 8.902 @ 154.90 mph, driven by Bob Cook
    2000 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi (first 3800 Bonneville in the twelves, elevens and tens), 10.711 @ 125.71 mph, driven by Ed Morad
    2008 Pontiac G8 (first G8 in the tens), 10.727 @ 129.87 mph
    2018 Cadillac ATS-V, 619 whp

  6. #6
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,247
    Please open a support ticket for any firmware related issues.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@HPTuners View Post
    Please open a support ticket for any firmware related issues.
    Ticket ID: 172540
    Subject: MVPI Firmware Update Failed
    Department: Support (Existing Customers)
    Type: Issue
    Status: Open

  8. #8
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    243
    Just curious is this firmware upgrade linked to a newer software update or the latest beta?

  9. #9
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13
    A lot of people in a group chat I am in are having this issue. Seems to be a very urgent matter.

  10. #10
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    353
    How do we do that?, email some one?

  11. #11
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Swansea Wales UK
    Posts
    119
    Gen3 L59/4L60E LS3 cast manifolds, Small Cam change, 2800 Convertor, MPVI, using MTX-L for wideband tuning

  12. #12
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    353
    I just downloaded the new version and it happened

  13. #13
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    just happened to me also HELLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    [#172580]: MPVI update firmware Failed
    Last edited by AikmanPerform; 05-11-2019 at 06:53 PM. Reason: added ticket submission number

  14. #14
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    i have tried 2 different laptops and my desktop same result power light comes on but says "please connect interface"

  15. #15
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    UPDATE: just sent my MPVI1 pro in with my MPVI2 just going to have them merged together and make the switch, been procrastinating long enough. Hopefully they will let me know what they find. don't want to put a band aid on it and it happen again, just for operations here at the shop waiting on me to get my old MPVI1 to get fixed again.

  16. #16
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    UPDATE: news from support...... "So the interface is totally dead. I am not able to recover it. I've combined everything into the MPVI2. I'll get it back to shipping now and get it on the way back."

    Corey Clayton
    HP Tuners LLC

  17. #17
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    284
    I am another one that has suffered a failure of my MPV1 due to a firmware upgrade which if given the option I would not have upgraded, I have a support ticket in place but I am losing business due to the fail, this appears to be a mess.
    I have requested to reinstate my original firmware which will solve the problem surely we have the right to do this given I did not have the option to decline.

    Is there any information why the upgrade was necessary and what the firmware upgrade will do and won't do compared to the previous working firmware.
    Last edited by Yortt; 05-16-2019 at 04:17 AM.
    Tune with actual data not simulated data!.....Applied Road/track Tuning

  18. #18
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    23
    me too, my interface its dead

  19. #19
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,247
    If you are having issues after the firmware update please open a support ticket here and we'll be happy to assist you further https://support.hptuners.com/index.php?/Tickets/Submit
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"