Thread: 05 gto,ls3 head swap, cuts out at 4000 rpm

Potential Tuner

05 gto,ls3 head swap, cuts out at 4000 rpm

042719 black gto road test torque converter.hplblack gto 042619 ve stock dfco etc disable 8.hpt

hello all,
    so I've been fighting this one for about 6 months now and just really getting my but kicked! was hoping somebody on here might have some experience with a similar situation. its an 05 gto automatic. under heavy load, tps above 50%, the engine cuts out, doesn't die, just wont accelerate any further. acts like its hitting a rev limiter. watching the log file, all airflow values gradually drop, and injector pulse drops with it when it hits about 4000rpm. I am even holding the throttle open at 90% but it will not move any air. however, this is where it gets tricky, it will run the rpm up if I keep throttle position below 50%, all the way to 6000. engine runs great, pulls good, doesn't skip a beat. even if I get above 4000 rpm and open up the throttle past 50%, it just stops revving drops back to 4000.

I have been calibrating the a/f ratio, and got it within a reasonable range, but still no effect to my problem. it was extremely rich reaching 9-1
    I have talked to a few tuners and I am really leaning towards a mechanical problem. I have eliminated possibilities with restricted intake duct, or exhaust system. I have checked my lifter preload, and measured .030 on intake, .060 on exhaust. right now I am leaning towards the possibility of either lifters collapsing down at high rpm, or throttle blade closing without the sensor reading it (highly unlikely)

also, this all started when I swapped the heads, valve springs, and intake. the car originally had this cam installed along with headers and never had a problem. everything else is stock and original to the car. I am in the process of installing a procharger, haven't installed it yet though.

my mods are:
    comp GRIND # LS1 3727R /3731R HR114 +4
    DURATION @ .050 INTAKE 234 ROCKER
    ARM RATIO