Thread: help with first tune

Tuner in Training

help with first tune

hello i am new to all this and starting with my 05 avalanche 5.3. so far i have added little timing, made pe kick in sooner and turned off torque management. will yall look over my tune and see if i have a good start and where to go from here. my.avalanche.1.5 2.5 timing, pe earlier.hpt6.hpl

It's picking up knock, so adding timing wouldn't be suggested yet.

Try aiming for 12.0-12.2 for PE instead of 10.8-11.5 like the factory is. I do suggest running 89 octane fuel at a minimum too, 87 is prone to knock. And if you start changing with fuel mixtures and timing, 87 isn't what you want to be running. Around here it's only another 3-4 dollars per fuel up to run a higher octane fuel.

Put in some 89 octane and see if it's still picking up knock, if it goes away then it should be alright. I always try to aim for low 20's for timing on a stock 5.3. I'm sure your intake temps weren't helping either, if you'd be sitting still there where well into the 140's and touching 150 before they came back down from you driving and getting airflow to the engine.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Advanced Tuner