Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 2016 Camaro SS Cammed. Some sort of timing limiter

  1. #1
    Tuner in Training 1278342005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Norman, Oklahoma
    Posts
    26

    2016 Camaro SS Cammed. Some sort of timing limiter

    There is some sort of timing issue going on. Stage 3 cam, Hi-Ram Intake, E85, Long tubes exhaust and CAI. It's a stick car. When you go to take off it seems sluggish as heck sometimes. It will then all of a sudden come to life. The timing is dropping to around 5 degrees and then shoot up where it is supposed to. There's no timing retard going on . I'm absolutely lost. I will post tune and datalog of it happening. You can see it in the last 15 seconds in the log and several times during the test drive. E85 Tune.hptTiming Issue.hpl

  2. #2
    Senior Tuner Higgs Boson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Texas Hill Country
    Posts
    3,171
    torque model is wrong and/or VVE is not tuned

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training 1278342005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Norman, Oklahoma
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by Higgs Boson View Post
    torque model is wrong and/or VVE is not tuned

    Is this corrected in the Virtual Torque Tables? How do I set up a PID and histograms to set that up properly? Where do I source the torque to enter into those tables?

  4. #4
    Are you logging immediate torque source?

  5. #5
    Tuner in Training 1278342005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Norman, Oklahoma
    Posts
    26
    Yes and it is Torque Management Advance is taking all of the timing out of it until about 3,000 rpm. Does it in 1st and 2nd gear mainly. Is that the virtual torque tables?

  6. #6
    Senior Tuner Higgs Boson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Texas Hill Country
    Posts
    3,171
    Quote Originally Posted by 1278342005 View Post
    Yes and it is Torque Management Advance is taking all of the timing out of it until about 3,000 rpm. Does it in 1st and 2nd gear mainly. Is that the virtual torque tables?
    You probably need to tune your VVE before you worry about your VTT

  7. #7
    Tuner in Training 1278342005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Norman, Oklahoma
    Posts
    26
    since the original post I've gone through and tuned the VVE and tuned the MAF as well. Still does the same thing but only in 1st gear.

  8. #8
    Senior Tuner SultanHassanMasTuning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    2,134
    if your traction is not completely off that could also pull ignition
    E-tuning/remote Tuning Sultan@mastuning.net Follow @MASTUNING Contact/Whatsapp +966555366161
    [URL="http://www.mastuningsaudi.com"]

  9. #9
    Tuner in Training 1278342005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Norman, Oklahoma
    Posts
    26
    I agree but this is just a minor takeoff. Literally just letting out the clutch and gas at about 25-30% throttle it pulls Tq Mgt Adv at about 20*ish of timing to where the car is trying to accelerate on 5 to 8* of timing. Then BOOM at about 50% throttle it disappears. I looked through everything in the tune and I still can't find anything indicative of this action.

  10. #10
    Log Immediate torque source.