Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Download boot loader request time out

  1. #1

    Download boot loader request time out

    I just tried to flash my car as I normally do, now I cant flash it, and my car won't start!!!

    Download boot loader request time out

    Please help asap!! I emailed support! I am stranded miles away from my house!!!!

  2. #2
    HP Tuners Owner Keith@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,909
    Can you describe the vehicle you're trying to tune?

    Sometimes this can be caused by:
    - Wiring issue
    - Low battery voltage
    - Another OBD device that's connected
    - Aftermarket head unit
    We got this guy Not Sure, ...

  3. #3
    My 2004 Z06 Corvette

    I removed fuses #5 and #9 from the footwell location.

    And removed #16 and #23 from under the hood. Left these unplugged for 10 minutes and plugged them back in.

    I left #5 (radio fuse) unplugged, and I was able to flash it.

    I've flashed it many times and never had this problem until I updated to the latest version. Not sure of the cause.

  4. #4
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,236
    Considering the age of the vehicle I would lean towards a battery or wiring related issue.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  5. #5
    Battery is two years old. I can give it a good charging and see if it goes away.

    I might also put the stock radio back in, as it is a Pioneer unit.

  6. #6
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,236
    If that doesn't do the trick we suggest using a bench harness.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  7. #7
    Not sure what you mean by 'bench harness'. Can you please clarify?

  8. #8
    Never mind. Just did a quick Google. I don't have a bench harness setup, so I'm hoping charging the battery works.

  9. #9
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by SVT_Z06 View Post
    I just tried to flash my car as I normally do, now I cant flash it, and my car won't start!!!

    Download boot loader request time out

    Please help asap!! I emailed support! I am stranded miles away from my house!!!!
    I have the same issue ever since I downloaded the new software update 4.4.2. If you un-check the "use high speed" box it will work. Is there a bug in the new update?

  10. #10
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,236
    Quote Originally Posted by camaro1LE View Post
    I have the same issue ever since I downloaded the new software update 4.4.2. If you un-check the "use high speed" box it will work. Is there a bug in the new update?
    Not that we are aware of.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  11. #11
    Advanced Tuner IARLLC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    628
    I have seen GEN3 with aftermarket radios mess up a tune install as the original radio was on the network with other modules...so if the aftermarket is not wired right... Of course the weird part is that you have been able to tune it many times before... Maybe just a low battery.

    On the other hand I had a "time-out" on a 2018 Raptor today...nervous for a few moments but it went through on the next try.

  12. #12
    This worked for me ! unchecked high speed