Thread: Frustrated with twin turbo LS

Potential Tuner

Frustrated with twin turbo LS

Good Morning All,

Long story short, I've been building this truck for over 4 years, spent way to much and made a lot of mistakes, hopefully someone can help me with the last hurdle.

Over the winter I sent my truck out of state for some mods to be done (new headers, injectors, intake etc). there are only 2 decent shops I trust around my area (upstate NY) and they're always slammed, so I sent it out if state. I was supposed to have a dyno tune but because the truck is a long bed it wouldn't fit on it so they did a "street tune", great shop but the tune isn't great and the truck just isn't running right.

To start here's what were working with.... and yes I know the turbos are too big for the motor but I wanted a wow factor, just should have bought a bigger block...I know for next time.

I have a 1959 Chevy Apache with the following: 5.3 LS with forged internals, twin GT35s (not sure the boost, maybe 12 lbs), 1000 DW injectors. First stage twin turbo cam from lil Jon's, 4L80E tranny with hd kit, 3600 stall torque converter from PTC and a Ford 9" rear with 3.55 gears.

The problem:

The initial start and idle were ok but now it is very rough but levels out only if I hold the gas pedal at around 1500 - 2k rpms for about 10-15 seconds. Then I'm told it goes into closed loop and finally idles semi normal. Even if I let it "warm up" for 20 minutes it wants to stall out when I put it in drive and begin to go. Once driving it stays running but feels real sluggish off the line. Once your cruising, at any speed, it feels as if it's misfiring or starved for fuel, you feel little shudders in the motor.