Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gen 3 start up issue

Tuner in Training

Gen 3 start up issue

Hello I am new to tuning. I have the MPVI2
    I did an LS swap into a 99 ZR2 blazer. The motor is from a 2002 tahoe. I think the PCM is a 2000 but its essentially the same.
    The motor is completely rebuilt. The pertinent changes are a cam, extensive head porting, and a return style fuel system with regulator on the return line.
    So I just tried to start the vehicle a couple days ago. Ive turned off the VATS and all that.
    The motor cranks and starts to fire but then goes back to cranking again and may or may not try to fire again but never runs. I cant get a data log since it wont start so I cant supply that info. Ive checked all the injector plugs with a noid light to make sure they are firing. Ive checked all the coils for the same. Ive dbl checked pinouts to verify the right plugs go to the right injectors and coils respectively.
    Im wondering if since I changed to a return style set up this is causing an issue. It seems to be something between crank and run that changes
    Any help would be appreciated
    Craig

What's your fuel pressure?

The 2000 computers already use a return fuel system, so that is not a problem.

Are you running the stock 5.3 MAF sensor still?

A data log still helps, it will at least tell you if some of the sensors are reporting good values when it's KOEO and while cranking.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by 5FDP View Post

A data log still helps, it will at least tell you if some of the sensors are reporting good values when it's KOEO and while cranking.
    Ive tried fuel pressure from 42 to 62 the higher the pressure the more it tries to start, stock mass air
    I have a short log of cranking the motor but I cant see how to attach it here