Thread: HELP LQ4 swap VE tuning spark advance qustion.

HELP LQ4 swap VE tuning spark advance qustion.

Hey everyone,

Background:

I am a full time student working on my doctorate in physical therapy. I have done mechanic work all of my life and love working on and driving cool cars. My most recent project has been doing an ls swap on a 1990 nissan 240sx hatch. I have been working on this car in my spare time for about three years now, using it as a means to blow off some steam and take my mind off of school. However it has recently become a means of more frustration than relaxation. I'm new to tuning but would love to get this thing lined out so I can enjoy a few months of nice weather before winter.

Car Details:

1990 240sx, stock 2003 LQ4 block and heads, ls1 intake and stock injectors, walbro 450 pump with new lines and regulator fuel filter, CAI, reverse truck manifolds with front crossover and up/down pipe (for future turbo application) and single 3in exhaust, 2004 5.3 ecu and harness that I modified according to lt1swap.com, th350 with 3000 stall converter, and welded rear diff.

Question:
    I have just recently started trying to tune the VE table but noticed that my timing has been really crazy and I am getting max KR with almost every acceleration. Should I continue to log more drives, and collect data to reshape my VE table then address the spark issue or should I adjust the spark table first? I would appreciate some guidance and any advice to help.

These are the most recent tune and log files as well as my channel configs.

nissan 5.3tune 8-24-19 2.hpt
    240sx drive log 8-24-19 2.hpl
    channels 8-18-19.Channels.xml