Thread: help...Blew 2 engines this year.

Tuner in Training

help...Blew 2 engines this year.

so i'm new to tuning. I'm a relatively smart guy and think I have a fairly good understanding on how most of it works but i'm far from an expert so asking others to look over this and tell me if i'm missing something. I will try to keep it short(but probably will get long).

so we bought a car that was already built and supposed to have been tuned by a shop. 2000 camaro 6.0l, cxracing 76/75 turbo, 317 heads, ls9 gaskets, comp 277lr cam, built 4l60, deka 80's, etc. well it ran like crap and after a lot of work fixing their cobble job, and us putting in a wide-band and doing a bunch of tuning we finally got it going good as we thought. before putting in the wideband after a bit of fixing, driving, fixing, driving, etc all of a sudden had no oil pressure. turns out oil was full of fuel. oil change and had pressure again. got wideband and anything over idle the afr dropped and pegged at 10. so pulled a bunch of fuel from VE table and I worked on the tune from there. street tuning we got it to where we felt it was pretty dialed in and took it to the track. first pass with the crappy stall they had in it(1600 it would push through the brakes) it gave a 2.0 60' then boost came in and away it went. shifted 2nd and blew the tires off and hit the rev limiter. after regaining traction car was flying again and into 3rd. when it hit the 1000' the engine grenaded. 4 broke pistons, 2 broke rods, holes in block and pan, etc...it was impressive. so we figured with everything we had to do to it just to get it to run right and the fuel washing the oil that the engine was hurt when we got the car and moved on to replacing it. amazingly with all of that it still ran a 11.8@113