Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Issues building boost

  1. #1
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    4

    Issues building boost

    Alright, so I feel like I've tried everything and I can't get my car (which has an upgraded turbo) to build more than 8-12 psi of boost.

    Some of the things I've tried:
    - Increasing all the torque maps under 'Torque Management' - 'Driver Demand'
    - Increased the power and torque values under 'Torque Management' - 'General' and 'Torque Model' - 'General'
    - Increased 'Desired Load' and 'Maximum Load' under 'Airflow' - 'General'
    - Increase the 'Wheel Torque Limit, Var 0' under the Transmission section 'Torque Management' - 'General'

    What's surprising is that I actually have a binary version of the tune for my car that I was using before switching to HP Tuners, which was able to build around 22 psi. I also did an ECU read on my car in its tuned state with HP Tuners and then tried flashing this tune back onto the car, but it goes from building 22 psi back down to 8-12 psi. I'm thinking maybe there are some missing parameters that HP Tuners isn't catching, which are preventing me from increasing boost? Does anyone have any suggestions for what to try here? Or maybe someone from HP Tuners can take a look at my binary version and what ends up in the .hpt file to figure out if there are missing parameters?

  2. #2
    Tuner in Training Illmat1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    31
    What are the car details and what setup do you have exactly? Also, post up your tunes and logs.

  3. #3
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Illmat1c View Post
    What are the car details and what setup do you have exactly? Also, post up your tunes and logs.
    The car is an 8J Audi TT with an EFR7163 turbo. I've attached the original and tuned binaries as well as the .hpt file that I'm currently trying to get working.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    16
    logs plzzzzzz

  5. #5
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    4
    I might post some logs later, but at this point I think I figured out the problem and fixing it will require an update from HP Tuners. I'm going to submit a ticket after posting.

    I misspoke a bit in my earlier post when I said I tried flashing the .hpt file I read while the car was in a working tuned state. What I did was transfer over all the map values to the .hpt file I had from a stock read. I did an experiment to get a better handle on what's going on here:

    For clarity, I have two .hpt files, A and B. A = read from the car in a tuned state (using the tuned_working_boost file from my earlier post), B = read from car in stock state, but then all available maps from A have been copied over in VCM Editor. So, to further clarify, A and B appear identical within VCM Editor.

    I flashed the car with A and went for a test drive. The result was as desired, the car made 22 psi of boost. I then flashed the car with B and went for a test drive. Flashing with B resulted in the car making near stock levels of boost, so back to the non-working condition. As a result, I think it's clear that VCM Editor isn't showing the maps necessary to properly increase boost for this car. I'm going to send in both .hpt files and ask that HP Tuners expose the maps that are different inside VCM Editor so that we can actually increase boost.

  6. #6
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    16
    HP Tuners doesn’t read the tuned file or actual file on the car, it matches your binary with a binary already on their server and sends that stock binary that matches your software variant

  7. #7
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by TylerJDubbs View Post
    HP Tuners doesn’t read the tuned file or actual file on the car, it matches your binary with a binary already on their server and sends that stock binary that matches your software variant
    That may be true for some applications, but certainly not this one. Easy way to verify this is to change some parameters, write to the car, and then do a clean read. You'll find that the clean read captures these modified parameters.

  8. #8
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by mukhery View Post
    That may be true for some applications, but certainly not this one. Easy way to verify this is to change some parameters, write to the car, and then do a clean read. You'll find that the clean read captures these modified parameters.
    Are you flashing a HPT supplied file Before you are able to read the vehicle with modified parameters