Thread: VE Tuning.. at a loss.

Tuner in Training

VE Tuning.. at a loss.

Im new to all of this and learning as I go. Yall have been tons of help working through issues. Now that I have an ( I'd say decent running tune) I'm trying to tune VE, but I can't get it to idle at all when I follow ChopperDoc's instructions. I"m sure I'm overlooking something but I can't figure out what. Can someone take a look and let me know what I need to do, ballpark to get this thing to run well enough to tune VE? It runs for like a minute and shut down.

On my "decent running" tune. Its pretty much an 05 Caddy Escalade base tune with some minors here and there. I'm rich at warm-up, rich at the touch of the throttle and then goes to 8 AFR at 70ish % Throttle which is why I was trying to follow the things I've read here about tuning VE first. And while its running, CL STFT are -20 ish. The running log is large and I don't know if useful or not but I figured maybe yall would see something in there to point me in the right direction.

Attachment 94655
    Attachment 94656
    Attachment 94657
    Attachment 94658

This is a 2005 LQ9 stock with CompCams and springs ... 202/212 .500 116 LS

Are you running a wideband o2 sensor?

The VE tuning file is way messed up with the VE table. You are better off starting with the stock VE and working it from there.

Haven't had any issues with the DBW trucks when setting the MAF dtc's to MIL on first error, set the MAF fail high to 0hz and disabling the fuel trims and closed loop.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Tuner in Training
    Ok I will try that again, I put it back to orginal and things were really rich then lean then it would shut down. I had hoped to get some miles on it today.
    I am, Im running an AEM and logging it as EGR. that seems to be working well !
    1984 Chevy K10
    6.0 Comp Cams 202/212
    4L80E