Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Licencing/credits and multiple files for 1 PCM

  1. #1
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Marki, Poland
    Posts
    6

    Licencing/credits and multiple files for 1 PCM

    Hi,
    I'm new user of MPVI2 interface and have following issue:
    Few weeks ago I purchased 2006 Chrysler 300 C SRT terribly tuned by someone in the past. No original stock file available.
    I want to load some factory default file found on this forum and test few other files from few tuners just check wich settings are ok for me.
    I want to start my own experiments with my PCM later on.

    Reading licencing policy and some threads on forum I have concern how many credits is necesary for such scenario? The file I download from flash has a lot of changes, so manually reverting them to factory defaults and upload to PCM will take long hours...and looks like every file from other sources than my own PCM requires licence... please advice how to manage this case to optimise credits usage.

  2. #2
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    299
    Open compare file, click the edit drop down, compare differences, right click, copy all differences. Few clicks can revert it back to factory parameters.
    JTC Performance - Authorized HP Tuners Reseller
    Performance Tuning in the Texas Panhandle

  3. #3
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,336
    or what we would recommend would be to have the ecm flashed to stock using the factory Chrysler/dodge tool via dealer or similar and read that file out. Any other way really isn't recommended by us.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  4. #4
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Marki, Poland
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for hinting. I spoke to dealer - they say they can update ecm only if there is any update available. So looks like if there is current software they are useless.
    I revert changes in my flashed file using stock file and "compare files" capability as hinted below.

    Thank you both for help.

  5. #5
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    11
    Hello, what is your actual FCA calibration (0489***)?
    ;o)

  6. #6
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Marki, Poland
    Posts
    6
    operating system: 05030234AE, serial T9CEH09468JAJG , Harware: NGC3 CAN, Dodge - this is visible data in calibration details.

  7. #7
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    11
    for sure, but where is you file to get info?
    Attached STOCK 05030234AE READ
    .05030234AE STOCK.hpt

  8. #8
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Marki, Poland
    Posts
    6
    Questions to @HPTuners:

    1. How to upload the hpt file into the repository?
    2. What exactly VCM is reading? Calibration and system or other ideas?
    3. Is "write entire" writing also system? This mean having blank ECM it is possible to load system by "writing entire"?

  9. #9
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,336
    1. uploading is currently disabled in the repository, no eta.
    2. the os, the calibration, the vin.
    3. writes the os and the calibration, our hardware/software cannot be used to flash a blank ecm.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"