Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting KR under hard acceleration

Tuner in Training

Getting KR under hard acceleration

Let me start with saying I'm pretty new to tuning, and started learning on a 5.3 swap I'm doing in a 2000 S10 Blazer. It's running/idling fine, but I just recently got it driveable and am trying to work out the kinks, so there could be glaring issues in my scan log/or tune that I'm just not experienced enough to notice.

5.3 with a with small compression bump(4.8 flat top pistons) summit 8719 cam -209 int./217 exh. with an LS6 intake. Seems to pull OK but take off seems weak. I'm getting a lot of knock retard when going WOT. I cannot hear anything bad from the motor during runs. It sounds great. Does this seem like a fuel issue? Just 87 octane in it right now, but I'm worried I have something else going on?

Any and all help very much appreciated.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Get a wideband o2 sensor as soon as possible. You must be able to monitor the real time air fuel ratio's, there is no guessing with this stuff.

You're missing a lot of good data in your logs too. I don't see commanded AFR or lambda, no injector pulse width avg for both banks, cylinder airmass is missing, no wideband o2 sensor data.

Pump 87 isn't helping with a camshaft and compression bump. Run 89+ octane at a minimum if you ask me.

Make sure fuel pressure is steady too, should always be around 58psi. Then use the wideband data to tune both the MAF and VE to correct the fueling.

Based on the o2 sensor readings at full throttle, it's looking pretty lean. They can't be trusted 100% but on a healthy setup with good sensor they will report in the ball park. The roughly .800mv is pretty low, typically I see 890-930mv.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.