Thread: 2002 silverado new to tuning

Tuner in Training

2002 silverado new to tuning

Hi, I recently purchased hptuners mpv12 pro and I'm waiting to receive it. I am new to tuning and have a 2002 rcsb Silverado that had a 4.8 4l60e and now has a cammed 6.0 4l80e as well as electric fans and new fuel pump/ Injectors. I have received injector data in gen 3 format from a forum member on performancetrucks. What else do I need? Where should I start? What wideband are compatible? I haven't ordered one yet but will in the near future. Thanks and I look forward to learning on here

Senior Tuner
    AEM makes some nice widebands. Check out this thread...
    https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...light=wideband
    As far as your tune, you'll want to read some of the threads on this site and watch some of the tutorials on YouTube to get you familiar with the tuning process.
    Here are a few things that you'll want to address on yours.
    Idle tuning...namely the idle speed table and the Minimum Airflow Table.
    You'll need to open the throttle body blade a bit on your application to get the IAC in the proper range at idle.
    You'll want to enter the new injector characterization data.
    The VE table will need to be altered considerably. In general, you'll reduce the number below 3000rpm. You may find that you'll need to reduce the VE numbers at idle by 20-40%...depending on cam selection. You'll have to add some to the VE numbers above 3000rpm. Maybe as much as 10-15% at higher rpms.
    You'll need to add timing to the spark tables as well. Generally, with a larger cam, you'll need to add way more timing at low rpm.
    Finally, you'll address engine torque management.

As far as the transmission, you'll need to do a segment swap in order to get the proper 4L80E parameters in your computer.
    At that point, you can adjust shift points and pressures. Google Bluecat Tool for the best spreadsheet on setting the transmission shift points.