Thread: gen 4 vve tuning

Tuner in Training

gen 4 vve tuning

I have a 2008 Chev with a new 4.8 engine and lumpy cam, and am having problems with the vve tuning. Have gotten the startup sorted out and it idles ok in closed loop but runs rough in open loop and the ltft #s are +15 below 1400 rpm, above that speed all seems good. I have tried to increase the vve table by just straight out increasing the vve table in that area(man.switch open-closed etc.) and by using stft+ltft graphing and applying that table to the vve table with appropriate maf disabled with no changes at all in the way it runs-fuel trims always go back to +15. I have lots of experience tuning aftermarket fi but my first go round with HP, and having troubles understanding many acronyms and exactly what many of the graphs/tables are for? Any nuby advice would be much appreciated-please be patient with me. At this point getting the ltft numbers in line will be a good start.

Advanced Tuner
    Post a log and tune. I would put it in full MAF mode for now, dial the MAF in first, then log VE air, Dynamic Air, and MAF air. You can then get the VE (VVE) closer while in full MAF mode. MAF is much easier and more forgiving to let you get close.

Do you have a wideband? You will need one to get WOT dialed in.

Tuner in Training
    Will attempt to post a tune file shortly(still Learning). I have tried with maf on and off, by "dialing in the maf" do you mean maf calibration airflow vs frequency table? I do have a wideband available but not concerned with this yet-once I can get fueling below 1400 the rest will progess easier.

Tuner in Training
    Here is a tune file. Do not have a log file(one step at a time)
    Attached Files Attached Files

Using a wideband is better than fuel trims.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Tuner in Training