Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 39

Thread: HP Tuners Now Offering 2014-2019 Ram & Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel Support

  1. #1
    HPT Employee Darek@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    78

    HP Tuners Now Offering 2014-2019 Ram & Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel Support



    2014-2019 Ram & Grand Cherokee 3.0L Ecodiesel

    Introducing support for the 2014-2019 Ram & Grand Cherokee 3.0L Ecodiesel

    An MPVI2 interface will be required along with the latest version of
    VCM Suite beta software. Licensing cost is 4 credits for the ECM and
    an internet connection will be required. ZF8 transmission support for
    these vehicles is also available.

    All 2018+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel and RAM 1500 Ecodiesel vehicles require the Smart Access Cable to tune.

    Note: Vehicles that have been previously tuned may need to be
    returned to stock

    • Click here to purchase an MPVI2
    • Click here to download the latest version of our VCM Suite software


    FCA
    • RAM 1500 3.0L Ecodiesel
    • Grand Cherokee 3.0L Ecodiesel




    For the full VCM Editor Change Log, please see the following link:
    http://www.hptuners.com/help/vcm-editor/changelog.html

    For the full VCM Scanner Change Log, please see the following link:
    https://www.hptuners.com/help/VCM-Sc...changelog.html


    For more information, and to view the latest supported vehicles list, click here.
    Last edited by Mark@HPTuners; 01-24-2020 at 10:01 AM.

  2. #2
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Aberdeen Washington
    Posts
    56
    Is there a stock file someone can post so we can check it out?
    2004.5, built 48re, Fass lift pump, s364.5 with a s483 compounds, ARP studs, 103# valve springs, 110hp injectors, 669hp 1075ftlbs

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    14
    Will this allow the ability to remove DTC's associated with EGR / DPF deletes ?
    2015 EcoBoost SHO
    Catless DP , 3 BAR , Intake , 3'' Exhaust

  4. #4
    Potential Tuner Speey_Mikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Akron, OH
    Posts
    5
    This is great! I finally have a good reason to upgrade to the MPVI2!

    Quote Originally Posted by jball217 View Post
    Is there a stock file someone can post so we can check it out?
    That would be really helpful. I checked the repository and there is nothing there yet.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cali View Post
    Will this allow the ability to remove DTC's associated with EGR / DPF deletes ?
    Great question, but I assume so given we can do that with any other vehicle. I'm looking forward to finding out.
    Yes, my username is an unfortunate typo... Just call me 'Fat-Fingers'.

    2011 Silverado LT - Edgar
    2014 Grand Cherokee EcoDiesel - DJ
    2018 Camaro SS 1LE - Nicole

  5. #5
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    2
    I have just downloaded my 2016 Ram ED, it is a lengthy process, about 25 minutes all said and done, reads, updates, reads again, etc etc

    It would appear that you can disable the dtc's for the egr and dpf as well as other various items, now i do not know if simply disabling the dtc's actually turns off the egr, etc off

    I would upload the file to the tune repository but i cannot figure out how

    Downside to it all, i now have a check engine light for who knows what (i will look into it tomorrow), and the light for 'traction control off' is now illuminated, hitting the trac control button does not change the lights status

    Update: the engine light and tract control have since gone back to normal status after a few drives
    Last edited by phaxtris; 02-01-2020 at 02:56 PM. Reason: update

  6. #6
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    29
    We need to get someone to come up with a list for user defined parameters for all of the EGR / SCR and associated information.

    I ran some of the beta testing for this on our Jeep. The tune that I loaded doesn't pull many parameters up but would allow you to take the throttle lag out of the tune that Chrysler chose so wisely to update them all with.
    My Garage:
    2013 Challenger R/T
    2013 Caprice PPV - Dad car

  7. #7
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Franklin, NC / Gainesville, Ga
    Posts
    3,943
    Due to GM not giving two flips about their customers anymore I'm possibly fixing to get a 2020 - I know this says for 19, but will 20's be as easily accessed?


    I assume we can at least adjust timing, fueling and turbo controls?
    2010 Vette Stock Bottom LS3 - LS2 APS Twin Turbo Kit, Trick Flow Heads and Custom Cam - 12psi - 714rwhp and 820rwtq / 100hp Nitrous Shot starting at 3000 rpms - 948rwhp and 1044rwtq still on 93
    2011 Vette Cam Only Internal Mod in stock LS3 -- YSI @ 18psi - 811rwhp on 93 / 926rwhp on E60 & 1008rwhp with a 50 shot of nitrous all through a 6L80

    No Longer with passion performance auto for good reasons

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by IG109 View Post
    We need to get someone to come up with a list for user defined parameters for all of the EGR / SCR and associated information.

    I ran some of the beta testing for this on our Jeep. The tune that I loaded doesn't pull many parameters up but would allow you to take the throttle lag out of the tune that Chrysler chose so wisely to update them all with.
    I think I could find a complete definition file for these, however you would still need the .bin for each specific software version. PCMflash says it can do a virtual read on these ecus which would give you the .bin, but I haven't tried it.

    edit: PCM flash is not a virtual read, it reads the actual file but you may need to do it on the bench.
    Last edited by jr2185; 02-10-2020 at 08:46 AM.

  9. #9
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Franklin, NC / Gainesville, Ga
    Posts
    3,943
    Does anyone have a stock file they can post?

    Then I talked to a tech at a dodge dealer today in regards to this, but does anyone know if it's as simple as having another ecm with a stock cal that you can swap them out to maintain warranty coverage or are flashes stored in other modules? Does the tcm use a separate module on these that logs flash history?
    2010 Vette Stock Bottom LS3 - LS2 APS Twin Turbo Kit, Trick Flow Heads and Custom Cam - 12psi - 714rwhp and 820rwtq / 100hp Nitrous Shot starting at 3000 rpms - 948rwhp and 1044rwtq still on 93
    2011 Vette Cam Only Internal Mod in stock LS3 -- YSI @ 18psi - 811rwhp on 93 / 926rwhp on E60 & 1008rwhp with a 50 shot of nitrous all through a 6L80

    No Longer with passion performance auto for good reasons

  10. #10
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Franklin, NC / Gainesville, Ga
    Posts
    3,943
    Ok, so I've got a friend/previous employer that owns a dodge dealership and he had me talk to his SM. Basically he said that it doesn't matter if you use a separate ecm, that Chrysler is pretty much like GM or any of the others now to the point that they poll all of the modules looking for change logs, max recorded pids and so on... He said you could swap an ecm out, but if they actually looked, they would kick it for warranty... Can anyone confirm this for sure?

    Also still really curious in seeing a stock cal if anyone has one.
    2010 Vette Stock Bottom LS3 - LS2 APS Twin Turbo Kit, Trick Flow Heads and Custom Cam - 12psi - 714rwhp and 820rwtq / 100hp Nitrous Shot starting at 3000 rpms - 948rwhp and 1044rwtq still on 93
    2011 Vette Cam Only Internal Mod in stock LS3 -- YSI @ 18psi - 811rwhp on 93 / 926rwhp on E60 & 1008rwhp with a 50 shot of nitrous all through a 6L80

    No Longer with passion performance auto for good reasons

  11. #11
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    15
    Does anyone have a file for a 2014 grand Cherokee they might be able to share? id like to see some things before springing for this whole kit. pretty pleeeeeeeease? (I haven't used this software in probably 6-7 years, so want to be cautious about it, would like to play with the trial a bit first)

  12. #12
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    12
    This is awesome, been waiting a long time for this.
    Now let me get this straight, is this supported on the 4.4 version or the Beta? Bc a few months ago I was told 4.5 beta version, but seeing it on the list now I?d assume not.
    Also is the PCM modification necessary to read the Eco? Bc I have a early 15 that was built in November 2014.. just wanna get my facts straight before I try to read the ecu again. Dont want to loose my GDE tune they?re had to come by now a days..

  13. #13
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by mistermog View Post
    Does anyone have a file for a 2014 grand Cherokee they might be able to share? id like to see some things before springing for this whole kit. pretty pleeeeeeeease? (I haven't used this software in probably 6-7 years, so want to be cautious about it, would like to play with the trial a bit first)
    If I get my 1500 to read this weekend I?ll send you the file. I?ve been waiting so patiently to start playing around with this truck!

  14. #14
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by phaxtris View Post
    I have just downloaded my 2016 Ram ED, it is a lengthy process, about 25 minutes all said and done, reads, updates, reads again, etc etc

    It would appear that you can disable the dtc's for the egr and dpf as well as other various items, now i do not know if simply disabling the dtc's actually turns off the egr, etc off

    I would upload the file to the tune repository but i cannot figure out how

    Downside to it all, i now have a check engine light for who knows what (i will look into it tomorrow), and the light for 'traction control off' is now illuminated, hitting the trac control button does not change the lights status

    Update: the engine light and tract control have since gone back to normal status after a few drives
    So when it prompts you to update the ecu side just click ok and let it do its thing? I was nervous to do that before not wanting to somehow loose my file. Also are you on for 4.4 or Beta?

  15. #15
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    15
    just make sure you have the file saved before you do anything, back it up. I always did it in 2 locations just to be safe. (And it looks like you have the have the 4.5 beta for the ecodiesel based on what the web page says. its free download though, so you can have both on board and try them)
    Last edited by mistermog; 3 Weeks Ago at 12:17 PM.

  16. #16
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    15
    So a small update to this, I got a file off a grand Cherokee ecodiesel and tried to open it to see what is available. You cant even open these files in the software without the MPVI2 attached.

    I can send the file to someone if theyd be willing to take some screenshots for me of what all is available. ?

  17. #17
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Franklin, NC / Gainesville, Ga
    Posts
    3,943
    I sent a pm with my email. Just let me know what tables you want to see and whether or not you want them public or not.
    2010 Vette Stock Bottom LS3 - LS2 APS Twin Turbo Kit, Trick Flow Heads and Custom Cam - 12psi - 714rwhp and 820rwtq / 100hp Nitrous Shot starting at 3000 rpms - 948rwhp and 1044rwtq still on 93
    2011 Vette Cam Only Internal Mod in stock LS3 -- YSI @ 18psi - 811rwhp on 93 / 926rwhp on E60 & 1008rwhp with a 50 shot of nitrous all through a 6L80

    No Longer with passion performance auto for good reasons

  18. #18
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    12
    Anyone get a U0100 code after the update and reading the Ecu? That?s what I have, and tried to clear it with the scanner and it won?t clear

  19. #19
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    12
    Hey does anyone know how to tell what Map and engine mode the truck is in while driving? Fuel, timing, and boost control all refer to the 8 driving modes, and the scanner does not have a channel for it. So i am hesitant to change anything without knowing what map i'm using.

    And if anyone from HPT can chime in are some of the Channels that do not work eventually going to be sorted out? In particular WB EQ ratio, or at least a Commanded Eq ratio from the truck to reference a aftermarket WB gauge against. And MAF frequency, or in this case microseconds

  20. #20
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Franklin, NC / Gainesville, Ga
    Posts
    3,943
    Dr. Mike is the only one to my knowledge to even offer a wideband that can read lean enough to log a diesel. His wideband recalibration allows something in the neighborhood of a 10ish to 99:1 afr reading... Haven't looked or seen an ecodiesel file yet, but most manufacturers use mode 0,1 and 2 for regular driving, then there will be 1 mode just for cold starts, open loop modes for lugging and of course regen modes. You usually can tell a lot just from turbo and injection timing OE settings then trial and error...
    2010 Vette Stock Bottom LS3 - LS2 APS Twin Turbo Kit, Trick Flow Heads and Custom Cam - 12psi - 714rwhp and 820rwtq / 100hp Nitrous Shot starting at 3000 rpms - 948rwhp and 1044rwtq still on 93
    2011 Vette Cam Only Internal Mod in stock LS3 -- YSI @ 18psi - 811rwhp on 93 / 926rwhp on E60 & 1008rwhp with a 50 shot of nitrous all through a 6L80

    No Longer with passion performance auto for good reasons