Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help a brother out with 01 diesel tuning

Help a brother out with 01 diesel tuning

I finally got to see a stock T D tune ( thanks to Ted Jannetty ) and it seems the idea of tweaking a Turbo Diesel is real popular with my mechanic buddies who all seem to own one so I have a friends 01 that I am going to try to experiment with Monday.

well I'm somewhat experienced with gassers but total noob with the glow plug crowd, so where can you find a couple HP? Are there any write-ups, maybe for other software to get the basics down? I can handle the Trani changes but where do you go for the motor fine tuning? It is a MAF only system from what I can see, so I'm at home with that Ford like air metering but what AFR am I aiming for? It isn't a closed loop system with no O2 or other sensors or a Stoimetric constant, is it? So this is old school, run it open loop all the time, right? Is leaner more power or richer more power? Sorry for being a tard but I have never owned one.

chuck me a few basics and I'll figure the rest out on this truck I have to experiment on. Man the demand for a non-parasitic tuning option for these guys is pretty darn strong, two other guys (one has a 06) are ready to step up next if I can give this guy a more fun truck to drive. I didn't want to pester guys with PM's because I realize everybody is trying to learn as fast as possible, but catch me up a smidge and maybe I can help contribute to the knowledge base. I know I'll be up all night again searching around for deisel info but need to WOT tune my SS right now, thanks in advance any help you can spare.

just a quick aside here, you guys may not know how good you have it with this version of the HP Tuners, very easy to use and things are setup with a lot of thought. It smokes SCT and Diablo, the two packages I have seen and used, just not even in the same league, but I'm sure Keith has heard that before.

- stu

Advanced Tuner
    Your welcome on the stock file.