Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Vcm swap into same model car.

  1. #1
    Tuner in Training Onomoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    45

    Vcm swap into same model car.

    I have a 01 monte carlo with a e85 l67 swap that had a 3800. Been driving on the swap for the last 2 years no problems. I need to retire that car because of living in the rust belt. I am pulling the drive train out of that car and am putting into a clean 01 monte carlo with a 3800 as was the same that was in my original car that has the l67 in. My question is can i take my l67 vcm and plug in and not have a problem with the bcm if so what will it do or not do and how to fix that. Or can i flash my file into the vcm in the clean monte and just pony up the 2 credits to do so. I am a little confused about the os from my rusty monte being diffrent than whats in the clean monte because it being a n/a 3800.
    2001 monte carlo swapped l67 on e85
    XP cam
    gen5 m90
    speed daddy headers 3 inch exhaust
    3.5-3.2 pully

  2. #2
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    23
    Probably just put your original bcm and pcm into the new car no credits needed that way or find a buddy with a tech 2 to match the bcm to your pcm and if.none of that works yea another 2 credits and copy your tune to that pcm

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training Onomoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    45
    Ok so my next question is would i have to do a write entire to the na 3800? Or just load in my l67 tune file? I dont know if the original tuner had use a different o.s or anything else because the original vcm was also a na 3800 pcm.
    2001 monte carlo swapped l67 on e85
    XP cam
    gen5 m90
    speed daddy headers 3 inch exhaust
    3.5-3.2 pully

  4. #4
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    23
    I believe hptunners will tell you if you should do a table write or a full write just do what it suggests

  5. #5
    Advanced Tuner mbray01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Pearl River, La.
    Posts
    789
    If its a different os, then you have to write entire

    if its the same ecu though, i would just put your old pcm in the new car, and either do a vats relearn, or disable vats in the calibration
    Michael Bray
    Rusty Knuckle Garage
    Slidell, Louisiana
    15yr Master Tech.
    Custom Car Fabrication, Customization, High Performance.
    GM World Class Technician
    Shop Owner

  6. #6
    Tuner in Training Onomoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    45
    I am very willing to put my old ecu into the new car. I believe i have the vats already disabled. Is the vats the only road block between being able to use my old ecu into the my new car? I have read up on the horror story's about either cars not starting or functions not working and what not.
    2001 monte carlo swapped l67 on e85
    XP cam
    gen5 m90
    speed daddy headers 3 inch exhaust
    3.5-3.2 pully