Thread: TSP Stage 3 cam Tuning help topic

TSP Stage 3 cam Tuning help topic

Hello there !

I finished the installation of my texas speed Stage 3 Camshaft last week and started my tuning today. I'm mainly a beginner, previously tuned the car with basic bolt ons (headers, Intake, MSD manifold and ported TB)

My goal is to create a topic where I could ask questions along my tuning process, and not create several topics

After my first day of street tuning (I plan to rent a dyno like I did previously, but I want to street tune first) , I have some questions :

- I did my MAF calibration on my previous tuning. Do I need to do it again with a cam ? I don't think so because my MAF is the same but I wanted to ask... Honestly the car runs fine. Still need to tune the virtual torque for idle because my rpm are jumping a little too much and solved my hot start issue with your help already.

- I noticed that despite disabling the variable cam in the airflow, I was still getting spark advance from variable camshaft. Looking at the logs timing was going up and down very fast I think because of that....I zeroed the VCP spark advance when I got home and plan to add more in the base table. Is it the correct way to do ? My VVT is locked at 0 degree mechanically.

- Even if its early, do you guys have any tips or strategies to increase mid range with a big cam ? So far midrange is weak (3000-5000) despite descent timing...When I look at dyno sheets torque is good starting at 3000, which is not the case on mine

- I read that there a good gain playing with SOI table also, I need to look into that. Any advices on that part ? Assuming only way to see will be on the dyno ?

Positive point is that this point driveability is already fairly good though.

Thanks

Alex

Advanced Tuner