Thread: 2004 F150 5.4 W Hot Rod cams HELP!!! :)

Tuner in Training

2004 F150 5.4 W Hot Rod cams HELP!!! :)

Hello all , I am new to the electronic tuning thing but not new at all to cars and mechanical tuning. I just put together an 04 5.4 3V and installed the Hot Rod cams . I got the HP tuners stuff and I got it idling and have done quite a bit of reading and used some mustang tips here and there with some decent results as far as throttle response and power down low . This thing however is a mighty turd and just isnt pulling like even a stock one would. I have no doubt there is a ton of things that need changing that I havnt changed. Just looking for some guidance or even a working tune file that I can look at to learn . I did this truck mostly to learn how to tune them and have learned alot so far , but the curve is steep and Im old....
    ANy help is much apreciated.

Kyle

Advanced Tuner
    a cam is supposed to reduce power down low and move it higher up in the rpm band so what your experiencing is perfectly normal
    decipha @ EFIDynoTuning
    http://www.efidynotuning.com/

Tuner in Training
    Ahhhh no , a cam will not always just move the band higher depending on the cam and a ton of other things . However , as I said before , this thing is pulling pretty good down low and the response is great , it runs out of steam as you gain RPM.

Advanced Tuner
    Post a copy of your tune. HPT is missing a ton of parameters on these so I won't be the greatest of help but I'll try.

Tuner in Training
    Thanks , lets see if this works....Keep in mind I have played with this thing a bunch and thats what is in the truck as of right now. I have about 3 other variants of it.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Advanced Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by blueoval77 View Post
    Thanks , lets see if this works....Keep in mind I have played with this thing a bunch and thats what is in the truck as of right now. I have about 3 other variants of it.