Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need some guidance 06 5.9 cummins auto. stock

Tuner in Training

Need some guidance 06 5.9 cummins auto. stock

So I am new to hp tuners and diesel tuning all together. I just don't know where to start. I have read though a lot of these forums just to get a feel with what needs to be done.

What i have been doing to far is smoothing out the desired fuel pressure map and also main injection pulsewidth map. I have also smoothed the pedal map steady state just a little bit. But I don't know where to go next.

I looked at the timing calculator spread sheet but the desired timing final does not look right. All of then numbers are positive. When I look at my main soi timing map the numbers are way different.

What am I doing wrong and what else should I be making changes on?

Banned
    Don?t smooth your pulsewidth table at all! This will just throw things way out of whack. Don?t rely on a timing calculator to ?make things right? either.

Go back to a pure stock tune. Data log the piss out of it to see where your truck runs and what?s going on through the data logs. Pick a region to start with like cruise speed at 50mph, look at your data logs to see where everything is running in the tables at that speed, then one change at a time just do something like reduce rail pressure 5mPa, data log, see how it feels, and see what the data log shows you with that change.

Don?t just blindly start smoothing every single table and throwing numbers into a timing calculator with no idea what anything is or how things work! One change at a time, test, review, repeat.

Tuner in Training
    What am I really looking for on the data log? Like what conditions should I be seeing for the power side vs the eco side of things?

Banned