Thread: safe timing tables for stock 2002 wrangler 4.0

Tuner in Training

safe timing tables for stock 2002 wrangler 4.0

Im a newb to tuning and am looking for a little more power from my tj's tired 4.0 liter. Im currently building a 4.6 stroker but would like to try and tune the stocker before I play around with the stroker once its in. Ive noticed the timing drops pretty good with throttle is this normal or cn i squeeze some power out with timing safely

Tuner
    you sure can, mostly from 2k-48k rpm , i can tell you the on my 4.0 stroker i have up to 8 degrees on some point and is been taking good so far

Tuner in Training
    ok like I said im a total newb to this can you explain to me how i change them in the tables?

Tuner in Training
    also how can i disable the evap system i dont see any options for it

Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    ok like I said im a total newb to this can you explain to me how i change them in the tables?
    on this engine you mostly use egr off tables since the jeep dont have a egr valve , i will start with 1 or to degrees from 1k to 48k and 30kpa to 100kpa , theres many ways to add this ,like by highlighting the desired portion you want to change on the table, let me know if this helps, i dont know if i can explain my self good enough https://www.hptuners.com/help/index....ters_dodge.htm

Tuner
    also how can i disable the evap system i dont see any options for it
    i have a 98 and can tell you hp tuners haven't enable this without the code triggering same with 02 sensors, you can disable them but you will get a check engine light

Tuner in Training
    Ok thanks for the help so far ive added 4 degrees to all the tables above 1500rpm n 30 kpa to 105 didnt seem to make much difference but one thing i did notice was changing the power enrichment timming to zero instead of the 4 seconds it was set at improved the throttle response quit a bit