Thread: 5.3 to 6.0 (HP93) Swap, Low Performance

Tuner in Training

5.3 to 6.0 (HP93) Swap, Low Performance

I apologize for the book (below). I wanted to provide some background and as much info as I can to help you help me. Lack of info seems to be the biggest issue when I read other posts.

I am new to tuning, but have tried to do as much research as I can to prevent costly errors.
    My issue is that I really don?t feel that this engine is running as strong as it should. The builder advertises 460HP/470TQ at the flywheel when used with the given bolt-ons: (headers, dual exh, throttle body, intake, 36lb Injectors, and a tune). I get it that I will lose a considerable amount of power in the drivetrain, but I can?t even break the tires on takeoff unless I?m on gravel. In addition, listening to the engine it just sounds labored and lethargic.

Here is what I have:
    2005 Avalanche 4WD, originally equipped with the 5.3 Flex Fuel engine. I have swapped in a LQ4 built by ATK engines, model ?HP93?. This engine has a mild cam (Howards PN: 190235-14) and 9.5:1 compression.
    Engine URL: https://www.high-performance-engines...ine-p/hp93.htm
    Along with the engine, I installed a cold air induction, shorty headers and true dual exhaust with a balance tube, new O2 sensors at position 1, and new knock sensors and harness. I always run 92-93 octane and rarely see any counts from my knock sensors (when I?m checking).
    The drive-by-wire throttle body as well as intake and injectors are stock.
    The Transmission is a built 4L60E with stock converter, and gears are stock 3:42.

Here is what I have checked:
    Fuel pressure holds steady at 58psi (no regulator on fuel rail). I ran an injector balance test and everything was within OEM spec according to the service manual. Very little if any variation between injectors.
    My cats are still installed, so I checked back pressure and that was zero.