Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 57

Thread: cruise control not working

  1. #1
    Advanced Tuner midevil1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    359

    cruise control not working

    Anybody know all the parameters that control the cruise control in a 6.4? Did a single turbo swap and lost my cruise control??
    2018 Jeep SRT Cherokee Midnight Edition

    2010 Ford F250 FX4..My Tow truck and latest toy.

    2005 JOE GIBBS RCSB, built 370, flowed L92's, custom COMP CAM, LS3 intake 92mm TB, T56, RAM HD, TSP F-body headers, 5.13's. 504whp and 489wtq 7.40's @ 94mph, ALL MOTOR 5300lbs...

    http://youtu.be/F7XDcn05usw

  2. #2
    Advanced Tuner JaegerWrenching's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    Posts
    385
    Quote Originally Posted by midevil1 View Post
    Anybody know all the parameters that control the cruise control in a 6.4? Did a single turbo swap and lost my cruise control??
    do you have any abs codes or lights? or a faulty brake switch?

  3. #3
    Advanced Tuner midevil1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    359
    Nothing. Truck is like it was before except cruise doesn't come on.
    2018 Jeep SRT Cherokee Midnight Edition

    2010 Ford F250 FX4..My Tow truck and latest toy.

    2005 JOE GIBBS RCSB, built 370, flowed L92's, custom COMP CAM, LS3 intake 92mm TB, T56, RAM HD, TSP F-body headers, 5.13's. 504whp and 489wtq 7.40's @ 94mph, ALL MOTOR 5300lbs...

    http://youtu.be/F7XDcn05usw

  4. #4
    Advanced Tuner midevil1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    359
    I am being told that it is because the VGT is gone. There is a way to tune it to work. Anybody know? I am seeing online that a few shops figured it out but they are not around anymore..
    2018 Jeep SRT Cherokee Midnight Edition

    2010 Ford F250 FX4..My Tow truck and latest toy.

    2005 JOE GIBBS RCSB, built 370, flowed L92's, custom COMP CAM, LS3 intake 92mm TB, T56, RAM HD, TSP F-body headers, 5.13's. 504whp and 489wtq 7.40's @ 94mph, ALL MOTOR 5300lbs...

    http://youtu.be/F7XDcn05usw

  5. #5
    Advanced Tuner JaegerWrenching's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    Posts
    385
    can't you hit the VGT switch 19626?

  6. #6
    Advanced Tuner midevil1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    359
    I have tried enabled and disabled. Trying it enabled with zero'd out parameters this weekend. Kem Performance supposedly figured this out but he hasn't been in business since 2019.
    2018 Jeep SRT Cherokee Midnight Edition

    2010 Ford F250 FX4..My Tow truck and latest toy.

    2005 JOE GIBBS RCSB, built 370, flowed L92's, custom COMP CAM, LS3 intake 92mm TB, T56, RAM HD, TSP F-body headers, 5.13's. 504whp and 489wtq 7.40's @ 94mph, ALL MOTOR 5300lbs...

    http://youtu.be/F7XDcn05usw

  7. #7
    I wonder if it?s a communication issue as I believe the vgt controller is on a network, I?ll look at some diagrams when I get back into the shop

  8. #8
    Advanced Tuner midevil1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by badcoupe View Post
    I wonder if it?s a communication issue as I believe the vgt controller is on a network, I?ll look at some diagrams when I get back into the shop
    I would greatly appreciate it, buddy. I get no codes for VGT with it enabled or disabled..
    2018 Jeep SRT Cherokee Midnight Edition

    2010 Ford F250 FX4..My Tow truck and latest toy.

    2005 JOE GIBBS RCSB, built 370, flowed L92's, custom COMP CAM, LS3 intake 92mm TB, T56, RAM HD, TSP F-body headers, 5.13's. 504whp and 489wtq 7.40's @ 94mph, ALL MOTOR 5300lbs...

    http://youtu.be/F7XDcn05usw

  9. #9
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Metro Detroit Area
    Posts
    192
    Recalibrate your brake switch. I've run into this before. Fix was to adjust / calibrate the brake switch. It doesn't necessarily need to be off enough to illuminate your brake lights, but it can be off enough to disable engagement of your cruise control if it senses a signal from the brake pedal switch.

  10. #10
    Advanced Tuner midevil1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by danmw2003 View Post
    Recalibrate your brake switch. I've run into this before. Fix was to adjust / calibrate the brake switch. It doesn't necessarily need to be off enough to illuminate your brake lights, but it can be off enough to disable engagement of your cruise control if it senses a signal from the brake pedal switch.
    I have replaced all of the parts involved with the cruise control. From steering wheel to master cylinder. Everything is working on that end. Power and signal to ecm when set..
    2018 Jeep SRT Cherokee Midnight Edition

    2010 Ford F250 FX4..My Tow truck and latest toy.

    2005 JOE GIBBS RCSB, built 370, flowed L92's, custom COMP CAM, LS3 intake 92mm TB, T56, RAM HD, TSP F-body headers, 5.13's. 504whp and 489wtq 7.40's @ 94mph, ALL MOTOR 5300lbs...

    http://youtu.be/F7XDcn05usw

  11. #11
    Senior Tuner veeefour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,137
    Quote Originally Posted by midevil1 View Post
    Nothing. Truck is like it was before except cruise doesn't come on.
    DTC in "other modules" can cause this as well...

  12. #12
    Advanced Tuner midevil1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by veeefour View Post
    DTC in "other modules" can cause this as well...
    Please Elaborate...
    2018 Jeep SRT Cherokee Midnight Edition

    2010 Ford F250 FX4..My Tow truck and latest toy.

    2005 JOE GIBBS RCSB, built 370, flowed L92's, custom COMP CAM, LS3 intake 92mm TB, T56, RAM HD, TSP F-body headers, 5.13's. 504whp and 489wtq 7.40's @ 94mph, ALL MOTOR 5300lbs...

    http://youtu.be/F7XDcn05usw

  13. #13
    Advanced Tuner JaegerWrenching's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    Posts
    385
    Quote Originally Posted by midevil1 View Post
    Please Elaborate...
    You need a scanner that can read more than just the ECM/TCM modules. Other modules can have errors or codes currently present in them keeping cruise from activating, but you currently can't read or see them with just VCM scanner or other lower end code scanners. I have tuned many 6.4 single turbo setups without any cruise control issues. However I always do update the PCM strategy/OS to 8U7A-14C204-FG which is the latest one using my VCM2 and IDS. I then pull that freshly installed strategy/OS using HPT and build a file based on mods.

  14. #14
    Advanced Tuner midevil1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    359
    P0179A and P0488 are the only codes I have.. they are disabled but still show as MIL-off. Anybody know what else you can do besides disable the codes?
    2018 Jeep SRT Cherokee Midnight Edition

    2010 Ford F250 FX4..My Tow truck and latest toy.

    2005 JOE GIBBS RCSB, built 370, flowed L92's, custom COMP CAM, LS3 intake 92mm TB, T56, RAM HD, TSP F-body headers, 5.13's. 504whp and 489wtq 7.40's @ 94mph, ALL MOTOR 5300lbs...

    http://youtu.be/F7XDcn05usw

  15. #15
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Metro Detroit Area
    Posts
    192
    Quote Originally Posted by midevil1 View Post
    I have replaced all of the parts involved with the cruise control. From steering wheel to master cylinder. Everything is working on that end. Power and signal to ecm when set..
    Replacing parts wont help anything if the brake pedal position switch needs calibrated. Even if its brand new, it likely needs calibrated at the dealer. Though I cant say for sure if your vehicle has this type of brake switch / sensor. Most newer vehicle's do though. Might want to look into that.

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by midevil1 View Post
    P0179A and P0488 are the only codes I have.. they are disabled but still show as MIL-off. Anybody know what else you can do besides disable the codes?
    Its because you're only touching the error classes with HPT DTC switches. You need to whack the antibounces to completely kill the code. (Which HPT doesn't have) if you have the addresses for your strategy and the UDP option enabled you can disable the antibounces.

    For SID902 (08-10 PCMs) antibounces are the actual trigger for a specific DTC (If it does have one) error classes only control what light comes on when a specific code is triggered.

    CEL with code, No CEL with code, Wrench Light with code, code with no wrench etc etc.
    Last edited by PSM 6.4; 12-12-2021 at 04:29 PM.
    2008 J2 F-350 CCSB

  17. #17
    Advanced Tuner midevil1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by danmw2003 View Post
    Replacing parts wont help anything if the brake pedal position switch needs calibrated. Even if its brand new, it likely needs calibrated at the dealer. Though I cant say for sure if your vehicle has this type of brake switch / sensor. Most newer vehicle's do though. Might want to look into that.
    No recal needed. If you read my post, I have tested all the way to the ECM pin out for both cruise circuits.
    2018 Jeep SRT Cherokee Midnight Edition

    2010 Ford F250 FX4..My Tow truck and latest toy.

    2005 JOE GIBBS RCSB, built 370, flowed L92's, custom COMP CAM, LS3 intake 92mm TB, T56, RAM HD, TSP F-body headers, 5.13's. 504whp and 489wtq 7.40's @ 94mph, ALL MOTOR 5300lbs...

    http://youtu.be/F7XDcn05usw

  18. #18
    Advanced Tuner midevil1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by PSM 6.4 View Post
    Its because you're only touching the error classes with HPT DTC switches. You need to whack the antibounces to completely kill the code. (Which HPT doesn't have) if you have the addresses for your strategy and the UDP option enabled you can disable the antibounces.

    For SID902 (08-10 PCMs) antibounces are the actual trigger for a specific DTC (If it does have one) error classes only control what light comes on when a specific code is triggered.

    CEL with code, No CEL with code, Wrench Light with code, code with no wrench etc etc.
    Not familiar with Antibounce term.? Another name for it?
    2018 Jeep SRT Cherokee Midnight Edition

    2010 Ford F250 FX4..My Tow truck and latest toy.

    2005 JOE GIBBS RCSB, built 370, flowed L92's, custom COMP CAM, LS3 intake 92mm TB, T56, RAM HD, TSP F-body headers, 5.13's. 504whp and 489wtq 7.40's @ 94mph, ALL MOTOR 5300lbs...

    http://youtu.be/F7XDcn05usw

  19. #19
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Metro Detroit Area
    Posts
    192
    Quote Originally Posted by midevil1 View Post
    No recal needed. If you read my post, I have tested all the way to the ECM pin out for both cruise circuits.
    I've read your post. You just don't seem to understand what I'm trying to tell you. Yeah, you replaced all the parts, pinned everything out, all the circuits are great. Cool story. You can do the same thing with a throttle body, a blend door actuator among other things. They still need their positions calibrated. Your brake pedal sensor/switch is no different. If its not calibrated, your cruise control will never work as the system will think your on the brake, and it wont necessarily illuminated your brake lights or cause any fault codes. Not trying to be argumentative or anything, just trying to help you out. If for some reason your vehicle does not have a position sensor/switch, then this would obviously not apply. Im pretty sure though, most if not all newer vehicles have this, as it is a part of traction control, abs and stability control systems.

  20. #20
    Advanced Tuner midevil1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by danmw2003 View Post
    I've read your post. You just don't seem to understand what I'm trying to tell you. Yeah, you replaced all the parts, pinned everything out, all the circuits are great. Cool story. You can do the same thing with a throttle body, a blend door actuator among other things. They still need their positions calibrated. Your brake pedal sensor/switch is no different. If its not calibrated, your cruise control will never work as the system will think your on the brake, and it wont necessarily illuminated your brake lights or cause any fault codes. Not trying to be argumentative or anything, just trying to help you out. If for some reason your vehicle does not have a position sensor/switch, then this would obviously not apply. Im pretty sure though, most if not all newer vehicles have this, as it is a part of traction control, abs and stability control systems.
    My truck doesn't require a "RECAL" of the brake switch. If they did I wouldn't own it..
    2018 Jeep SRT Cherokee Midnight Edition

    2010 Ford F250 FX4..My Tow truck and latest toy.

    2005 JOE GIBBS RCSB, built 370, flowed L92's, custom COMP CAM, LS3 intake 92mm TB, T56, RAM HD, TSP F-body headers, 5.13's. 504whp and 489wtq 7.40's @ 94mph, ALL MOTOR 5300lbs...

    http://youtu.be/F7XDcn05usw