Thread: 2005 Jeep Wrangler 2.4 NGC3 Closed Loop Boost PE

Potential Tuner

2005 Jeep Wrangler 2.4 NGC3 Closed Loop Boost PE

I'm new to tuning, so you'll have to excuse my ignorance. I turbocharged my 2.4L Jeep and have some theory questions before I start messing with VE and spark tables. How do you get it to go into power enrichment under boost? The trigger for power enrichment in the tune file is throttle position and then you can scale it based on pressure ratio, but you can't trigger it with pressure ratio. The dilemma is (correct me if I'm wrong) in closed loop, the computer will still try and fight to bring it to stoich. Even if the VE table is set up to burn rich under boost, the ECU in closed loop will adjust STFT to bring it to whatever I set as stoich. Now I could make it run open loop all the time, but I would prefer not to. Engines have better life expectancy in closed loop. I could just lower the WOT threshold, but throttle position doesn't necessarily correlate to load/boost. I could lower stoich AFR, but then I'm burning rich all the time, not just under boost. Does anyone have any ideas or is this something I simply cannot do? It seems hpt added a function to alter the OS on some GM computers to allow for boost enrichment. Excuse the ignorance, but could I simply add that ability to my ECU somehow? For background, I have a Neon 2.25 bar MAP sensor and am actually only running like 5psi boost max.

Advanced Tuner
    Short of running open loop, unfortunately there is no way I've ever seen to activate PE off of MAP.

There is a work around you can do electrically. It's a little barbaric, but it will do the job. The idea is to use a combination of a hobbs switch and a 3.9v zener diode, and tap into your TPS wires.

1) Run one side of the hobbs switch to your +5v TPS supply wire
    2) Run the other side of the hobbs switch to the TPS signal wire
    3) Using the wire in step 2, tap the zener diode in with the black band facing this wire.