Thread: New to the HP tuner , would like to tune a stock 2001 5.3 tahoe with cold air intake.

Potential Tuner

Post New to the HP tuner , would like to tune a stock 2001 5.3 tahoe with cold air intake.

Hello Everyone,

I have just purchased a HP mpvi2 tuner, mainly because I am removing the clutch fan and installing dual electric fans and running them off of the pcm, also to adjust my tire size to correct the speedometer.

I am new to the interface, as my last tuner had basic options for performance levels.

My 2001 tahoe is a stock 5.3, 285/75/16 tires, 3.42 ratio rear end, and I have a cold air intake.

I would like to tune it to run as good as it can being stock..

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

I have figured out how to activate the fans and change tire size and have currently changed the tire size.

Advanced Tuner
    Did you get the Pro version with prolink for MPVI2? I would recomend one of the powerful features in the HP Tuners software and that is the VCM Editor>Edit tab, navigation. If you want to find something someone suggests start there and it gives the "tree" to the item. When making changes the ECM # is listed at the bottom and making a note of that can speed up if you write down a table you change for future reference you can put that number in the navigator and go straight to it.
    Disclaimer. Modify ECU for performance at your own risk.
    To start: download the stock tune and copy it. Never use the very first original, even to compare just keep it safe. After those precautions, to get instant fun factor from a stock motor and trans, take the Transmission>Shift pressures>Up shift copy the Performance table and paste into Normal, do the same with Shift Timing Performance copy/ paste to normal. It is safe, its already there stock. In 12760 make whole table 8 or maxed out and 12761 rpm table to 0.
    Spark>Retard> Burst Knock Retard is a predictive not actual knock. The factory knock strategy is still going to be used.