Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: JTEC 46RE Part Throttle Shift Tuning

Tuner in Training

JTEC 46RE Part Throttle Shift Tuning

Hello everyone.

I am a tuning novice, and am just starting to get my feet wet with this stuff. I figured I'd start someplace easy, and do a little tinkering with the shifting on my 2001 Ram 1500.

Specifically, the thing I would like to change is the 2>3 upshift at part throttle. The way the stock tune has it calibrated, if you're driving around normally (low throttle input) it will shift from 1>2 at something like 1800rpm, which is great. But then it waits in 2nd until 2400-2800rpm which feels way too long. Then immediately following the delayed 2>3 shift, it will make the 3>4 shift. So it feels like a long delay, followed by two shifts right on top of each other that happen around 40mph.

On the 46re, shift pressure and timing is largely controlled by the adjustment of the tv cable. Mine is adjusted to factory spec. Trouble is, adjusting that will change all the shifts, and that's not what I'm looking for. I'm hoping just the part throttle 2>3 shift can be forced to occur slightly earlier using the tune.

Looking under the transmission section (beta version required), "shift scheduling" tab, it would appear you could change this by adjusting the minimum and maximum TPS. However, I tinkered with it by lowered the minimum and/or raised the maximum in the middle sections of the tables (where the shift is or should be occurring) and nothing changed at all. Also switched to maximizing the minimum and zeroing out the maxium, still no change. Can anyone see any place else that adjustments could be made? Did I adjust the TPS table wrong?

Here's the stock tune.

Stock Tune.hpt

Thanks!
    Last edited by Msmith68w; 07-11-2020 at 03:03 PM.

Advanced Tuner