Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Where/How to update RTD/RTD flasher software

  1. #1
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    4

    Where/How to update RTD/RTD flasher software

    I had my truck tuned in June/July 2020. I just had my tuner update my tune today. When I went to open the new tune file, it would not open it and a box popped up that said "Unable to open file. Unsupported or newer version detected. Please update your software.

    I searched the HP tuners website, could not find anything labeled an update for the RTD, the original software came on a HP tuners USB stick. I searched the forum and found this thread

    https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...&highlight=RTD

    even though its on Magnuson website, would that be the update I need? or where is a better place to find it?

    Thanks,
    Mike

  2. #2
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,726
    typically you can get the link from the company that sold you the RTD interface.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  3. #3
    Senior Tuner 10_SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,251
    Quote Originally Posted by frankenstien907 View Post
    I had my truck tuned in June/July 2020. I just had my tuner update my tune today. When I went to open the new tune file, it would not open it and a box popped up that said "Unable to open file. Unsupported or newer version detected. Please update your software.

    I searched the HP tuners website, could not find anything labeled an update for the RTD, the original software came on a HP tuners USB stick. I searched the forum and found this thread

    https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...&highlight=RTD

    even though its on Magnuson website, would that be the update I need? or where is a better place to find it?

    Thanks,
    Mike
    I'm curious, why the $299 for RTD: https://www.vmpperformance.com/RTD-Interface-Only
    when you can buy the real MPVI2 for $299? https://www.hptuners.com/products/

    Don't they do the same thing? I mean, doesnt MPVI2 do everything RTD does (but much, much, much, much, much, much, much more)?
    2010 Camaro LS3 (E38 ECU)
    Whipple 2.9L, 3.875" Pulley, kit injectors, supplied MSD Boost-A-Pump, stock pump
    LG Motorsports 1 7/8" Headers - No Cats, stock mid pipe with JBA Axle Back
    ZL1 Wheels/Tires

  4. #4
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@HPTuners View Post
    typically you can get the link from the company that sold you the RTD interface.
    This was the answer, i found it on their site, it was the same version as the one from the link. I had to re sync the RTD and it seems to have worked, it lets me open the tune now, haveent had a chance to load it

  5. #5
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by 10_SS View Post
    I'm curious, why the $299 for RTD: https://www.vmpperformance.com/RTD-Interface-Only
    when you can buy the real MPVI2 for $299? https://www.hptuners.com/products/

    Don't they do the same thing? I mean, doesnt MPVI2 do everything RTD does (but much, much, much, much, much, much, much more)?
    I believe so, the MPVI2 does do more than the RTD for sure. The RTD came with the tune that I purchased from my tuner. I am very new to HP tuners, spent 8 years with my Duramax and EFI Live. I also never really planned on getting a custom tune for my truck, but the stock Whipple tune was not cutting it. Also, I am no tuner, nor do I plan to be, I may buy a MPVI2 later for my ls swap if i think i need it, but I can data log with the RTD so we will see.

    Thanks,
    Mike

  6. #6
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,726
    Most RTD interfaces are included by supercharger manufacturers such as Magnuson, procharger, VMP, etc with their kit for simplicity ie they send you a tune, you load it, done. If you know you want to tune your own vehicle buy an MPVI2
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  7. #7
    Advanced Tuner mbray01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Slidell, La.
    Posts
    900
    Quote Originally Posted by bill@hptuners View Post
    most rtd interfaces are included by supercharger manufacturers such as magnuson, procharger, vmp, etc with their kit for simplicity ie they send you a tune, you load it, done. If you know you want to tune your own vehicle buy an mpvi2

    when the rtd device first came out, it didn't make sense to me what its actual purpose was, as it did everything the mpvi 2 did. You could license your file, modify your file and read and write it using the rtd.
    Well hpt must have realized they messed up, as with the current software, you cannot read or write, you can only use the rtd software to read and write with.

    Basically the rtd allows the aftermarket companies to provide a file that the customer cant change, unless they get their own mpvi2 . I get it now, just wasnt clear at first, till the software locked the device out
    Michael Bray
    Rusty Knuckle Garage
    Slidell, Louisiana
    20yr Master Tech.
    Advanced Level Specialist
    Custom Car Fabrication, Customization, High Performance.
    GM World Class Technician
    Shop Owner

  8. #8
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    4
    I am happy with the RTD and my tuner. I ordered my Whipple kit with their tune, which they have their own proprietary device called a Tomahawk, I was disappointed int he Whipple tune, so I oped for someone else's tune, they recommended the RTD as I had and have no desire to try tuning/burning down my motor myself.

    Thanks for the help guys, glad I got it figured out