Thread: Help with LS2 Swap -- Runs for only a few moments

Tuner in Training

Help with LS2 Swap -- Runs for only a few moments

I've been looking through the forums and can't seem to find the answer. Sorry if this has been answered.

I have an LS2 ('05 Pontiac GTO) in a 1977 Datsun 280z that I can't get to run for more than a few moments. Here are the details:

• I'm a newbie, at HP Tuner and engine swaps, so I won't pretend to know much of anything. Be kind.
    • The motor was completely rebuilt, no internal modifications (bottom end done at a machine shop, top end assembled by me)
    • Long-tube headers, O2 sensors, no cats
    • LS3 style MAF (card style) and LS3 injectors
    • Wiring Specialties harness + initial flash to remove VATS (I bought HP Tuner afterwards trying to solve this issue)

• The motor will start and run for a few moments. It starts at normal revs (~1,000) but then drops down and stalls after 5-10 seconds. Occasionally it won't start and will back fire. After a few additional cranks, it will start but stall.
    • When we first cranked we just had headers, no O2 sensors, and the motor would run but the revs were always very low. I'm not sure if this has anything to do with installing the exhaust & O2 sensors.
    • I get DTCs for crank and camshaft sensors
    • I tried to run crank relearn but it says all DTCs must be cleared, even after I clear the DTCs and readiness codes say complete (MIL stays on)
    • I'm also not sure how I can get crank relearn to run if the motor can't idle and heat up (and I don't have any brake sensors so I'm hoping the relearn will run without this brake signal)

Anyone have any recommendations? Current tune is attached (base tune from Wiring Specialties with DTC codes turned off for O2, EVAP, EGR).

20201002 - Disable Incomplete Codes.hpt

Thanks,
    Charles

Someone disable the MAP and MAF codes too, those need to be turned back on. Codes P0068 and P0101-103 all need to be set back to factory settings.