Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Ranger SID209 Limp Mode

  1. #1
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    9

    Ranger SID209 Limp Mode

    Trying to tune a 2018 Ranger SID209, have locked it into config 4 while I?m tuning will go through all the others. I?m having an issue where at 1500-2000rpm part throttle on the dyno loaded it will go into limp and bring a spanner up. I get no DTC codes? How to I see what?s causing the limp mode?
    Last edited by jmsmotorsport; 12-11-2020 at 09:34 PM.

  2. #2
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    92
    Did you try and read codes with HPT Scanner or did you use a different product?
    Ian B
    '15 Holden VF SSVR L77
    '19 Ford PX3 Ranger 3.2TD

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    9
    Ended up working and found the codes - P061B Internal Torque Monitoring and P062B Internal Fuel Injector Control Performance. I am continuing my dig into the maps to give me a running sheet of where and what to test next time this vehicle is in.

  4. #4
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by jmsmotorsport View Post
    Ended up working and found the codes - P061B Internal Torque Monitoring and P062B Internal Fuel Injector Control Performance. I am continuing my dig into the maps to give me a running sheet of where and what to test next time this vehicle is in.
    HI mate,

    any update on this as hitting the same issue..

    what did you do to resolve?

    thanks

  5. #5
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Also have the same issue, what have you tried to resolve it? waiting for the car to come back for more testing.

  6. #6
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by CCT View Post
    HI mate,

    any update on this as hitting the same issue..

    what did you do to resolve?

    thanks
    I have a feeling it’s to do with perhaps the upgrade in the software that they get you to do - might be hitting an internal torque limit that is not well defined perhaps ...

    Update here if you find anything conclusive ...

  7. #7
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    92
    Have you done a search or read existing threads like https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...Logging-Update ?
    Ian B
    '15 Holden VF SSVR L77
    '19 Ford PX3 Ranger 3.2TD

  8. #8
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by VFL77 View Post
    Have you done a search or read existing threads like https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...Logging-Update ?
    Hey mate, had a good read through but nothing conclusive sadly ..
    did you get it sorted for Your one by any chance?

  9. #9
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by CCT View Post
    did you get it sorted for Your one by any chance?
    Other than what has been discussed already, I don't have a solution.
    Ian B
    '15 Holden VF SSVR L77
    '19 Ford PX3 Ranger 3.2TD

  10. #10
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by VFL77 View Post
    Other than what has been discussed already, I don't have a solution.
    This is promising .. did that sort your issue p061b code

  11. #11
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by CCT View Post
    . did that sort your issue p061b code
    I believe so. The tune I saw that issue with was not my cars tune and I didn't experience the final tune.
    I have not made any performance modifications as my interest has become more esoteric. I don't want to run a richer AFR on this motor and the stock PX2/3 turbo is on the limit with its small shaft. The car is used for remote travel so I'm treading slowly. If I was a tradie with 20" wheels, 40 series tyres and too much money maybe I wouldn't care so much, lol. When I make a change I'll swap out the turbo and intercooler for bigger units but it won't be for another year or two now.
    Ian B
    '15 Holden VF SSVR L77
    '19 Ford PX3 Ranger 3.2TD

  12. #12
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by VFL77 View Post
    I believe so. The tune I saw that issue with was not my cars tune and I didn't experience the final tune.
    I have not made any performance modifications as my interest has become more esoteric. I don't want to run a richer AFR on this motor and the stock PX2/3 turbo is on the limit with its small shaft. The car is used for remote travel so I'm treading slowly. If I was a tradie with 20" wheels, 40 series tyres and too much money maybe I wouldn't care so much, lol. When I make a change I'll swap out the turbo and intercooler for bigger units but it won't be for another year or two now.
    thanks for that mate,
    sorry just to confirm, you had the p061b cel issue and then now its been resolved or never actually had it affect your setup?
    - just trying to clarify
    appreciate the help

  13. #13
    Advanced Tuner JaegerWrenching's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    Posts
    328
    You're hitting a torque limit, up your allowed torque vs RPM map and atmospheric torque limit map. It happens as you add fuel because more fuel means more torque thus clipping the limit.
    Last edited by JaegerWrenching; 05-15-2021 at 05:44 AM.

  14. #14
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by CCT View Post
    ...or never actually had it affect your setup?
    I confirmed a particular tunes behaviour would generate that error. 5 mins of testing for someone else and I went back to stock.
    Ian B
    '15 Holden VF SSVR L77
    '19 Ford PX3 Ranger 3.2TD

  15. #15
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by JaegerWrenching View Post
    You're hitting a torque limit, up your allowed torque vs RPM map and atmospheric torque limit map. It happens as you add fuel because more fuel means more torque thus clipping the limit.

    Thanks - will
    Try that and update