Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brand new to tuning

Tuner in Training

Brand new to tuning

Hi, as the title suggests this is my first time doing real tuning. I purchased HPTuners with the MPVI2 about a year ago or longer, to do some tuning for an idle issue I had. I had a friend who knew more than me help me, and we got that issue resolved. I don't know how spot on the tuning really is, but the car idles and runs pretty good. It is a 2006 CTS-V LS2 with a TSP 402 stroker, TF as cast heads, BTR4 cam, Fast 92 intake, headers, other supporting items, etc. I've been watching various videos on the tuning subject, and certainly have a long way to go. The good news is I am knowledgeable and have a very good understanding of how everything works at a high level. I'm hoping to get a few quick answers to help me keep on keepin on. It was a big leap for me today actually making adjustments and writing to the ECM, etc. I'm excited that it seems to be going well (haven't blown it up yet...).

I actually started doing some MAF tuning today and it has been going fairly well. I've mainly been following goat rope garage videos. I purchased an AEM X Series 30-0333 (with the OBD2 pass through) and it pulled up in the scanner just fine. When I went to do the maths to create the MAF error ratio I was not able to locate that wideband. I found some other signals that seem to work (generic WB) and they appear to be giving the correct data. I was wondering if anyone could confirm I have this setup correctly, or if there's some other way to pull in that WB for the math? Here is what I'm using:

100 * ([50127.238] - [50118.238]) / [50118.238]

50127 is EQ Ratio #1 [Sensor]
    50118 is EQ Ratio Commanded [Sensor]

I found a few other threads where people had similar issues with this particular OBD2 pass through WB but couldn't really find a concrete answer. This seems to be reading correctly, just would like it verified.