Thread: 5.3 no restart

Potential Tuner

5.3 no restart

I can load the tune, start the truck and drive it as long as I don't shut it off. Then only way to get it to start again is to reload tune again.

Tune file?

Vehicle information?
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

It's a truck, duh! Aren't they all the same??

Exactly! I say the same thing about engines all the time "Its a combustion engine, aren't they all the same??!"

Potential Tuner
    Sorry guys I know better. I've been turning wrenches for 43 years. Update: kept loading tune and driving it around. Last trip went about 30 miles in various driving situations and now it starts fine. I do still need some expert advice however. Backstory: 2005 chevy silverado 4x4 originally had stock 4.8. the owner found a 5.3 rebuilt it with flat top pistons, big mutha thumper cam, aftermarket coils, stock injectors. He installed the engine and it would run but barely on stock tune. He took it to a friend with hp tuners. The friend got it where it wouldn't run at all. So it ended up at my house to fix. Until 3 days ago I had never seen or done any ecu tuning. The guy sent his laptop and interface with the truck. So I began looking at the software and getting familiar with it and reading up on tuning with that system. Finally figured out he had injector sizing set to 198.4. not sure why. Reset it to accommodate the stock 26lb injectors with manifold vacuum compensation. Got it running well. Now is there any info on why the mad and map are throwing a performance codes. I didn't change anything but injector sizing. So timing and airflow maps are still from stock tune. I did increase idle slightly.

Potential Tuner
    Sorry Maf not mad. See above

If you are getting MAF and MAP codes I would suspect that you wiring issues.