Thread: 05 f350 tuning and injector advice

Tuner in Training

05 f350 tuning and injector advice

Im new to tuning and playing with my own truck before i dare touch anyone elses, at the moment ive got an 05 f350 6.0 powerstroke with arp studs, deleted, 4" exhaust with fass fuel system, stock injectors, stockish turbo (i built it from a bunch of spares at one point with an 05 housing, aftermarket 10 blade, and wicked wheel) but i doubt any of that makes any difference ive got another engine on the stand im refreshing with new rings, bearings, gaskets, seals, etc and i want to put new injectors in it on the way together. So question 1 is from a tuning point of view what injectors should i consider, stock is 135cc and im considering 155/0, 155/30, or 175/0 my truck weights about 9k pounds and i tow up to 10k often enough i dont wanna switch tunes much so my next question is how do i adjust timing maps, reading several forums ive read people say there is lots of room for timing but idk were the line is or how to tell if im near it, so far i have used timing maps from other tunes (mainly sct canned tow tune or canned performance tune) and ive been working on dropping the icp sensor back to stock levels and picking up injector pw from ficm and having trouble cleaning up all the smoke at initial heavy throttle from idle or light cruise

I know this is a tuning forum and i dont expect much info for injector decision but cant hurt to ask, i plan to make a thread in powerstroke forum aswell as call a few injector companies about that part however parts like that are only as good as the tune written for it so you guys are my first stop

I ran 170 injectors in my 06 it towed weekly and was fine, I had a bigger charger though. Ficm was tuned for the injectors with hp but the pcm was tuned with sct via custom tunes when it was on the dyno.

Banned