Thread: First Tune HELP - No throttle when in gear

Potential Tuner

First Tune HELP - No throttle when in gear

Hey guys,

This is my first attempt at tuning so I'm sure this is an easy fix. I'm sure there are already posts about this but I wasn't able to find them during my searching. Just put an L99 into my buddy's '58 Apache. Motor, Trans, gas pedal and throttle body all came from the same 2012 Camaro SS. Should be a pretty basic tune because nothing was deleted other than the bank 2 O2 sensors and evap. Disabled VATS, used the Gear/Tire wizard to adjust trans parameters for new tire size and gear ratio and disabled O2 bank 2 MILs. Outside of that nothing was changed on the stock tune.

Motor starts and runs fine. When in Park or N throttle responds as expected. When put in gear there is no throttle response. My buddy said he checked the 12v coming from the brake pedal. Any other ideas of what it could be? Tune file attached. Thanks for the help!!!

-Kerb
    Attached Files Attached Files

That sounds like limp mode. Being it goes into it when you put it in gear leads me to think it has something to do with the transmission and ecu not getting along. Not sure why but that is where I would start. I know that is not much help. If I can think of a reason I will let you know.

Potential Tuner
    Hey Openwheel, thanks for the reply. Can I tell it is in limp mode by logging somehow?

Does it have any trouble codes present when it happens?

Potential Tuner
    I scanned for codes when it was in park (no codes) but haven't checked when it's in gear. I'll do that tonight and post results. Any other info I need to grab when I'm there?

Tuner in Training
    any chance you figured this out? I have tghe same thing going on.

Quote Originally Posted by broken-tuner View Post
    any chance you figured this out? I have tghe same thing going on.
    Is it possible its looking for something from a Body Control Module?