Thread: Sooo... LSA swapped my 2011 Caprice and need a bit of advice on where to start

Sooo... LSA swapped my 2011 Caprice and need a bit of advice on where to start

Hello! So, here is a little backstory to let you know where I'm at. I only really ever tune my own junk so I'm not a pro. I have tuned a couple N/A E38's that I've owned, but only MAF tunes as they seemed to work just fine (and were easy). Now, I have speed density tuned a few gen III computers for boost with success, but have never tuned a gen IV for boost.

So my questions are:
    1.Is it possible/acceptable to MAF tune in boost for an E38?
    2.If the above is so, I have no need to run the 2-bar OS, right?
    3. If the above is not possible or not recommended, where do I start on tuning an E38 for boost in speed density with all of the coinciding tables that are required?

Thank you for any and all advice guys!

Senior Tuner
    For a LSA especially modded I'd go SD all the way. Don't need a custom OS. A 2 bar OS may or may not be available to your OS anyway. Stock OS will work with VVE
    Tuner at PCMofnc.com
    Email tuning!!!, Mail order, Dyno tuning, Performance Parts, Electric Fan Kits, 4l80e swap harnesses, 6l80 -> 4l80e conversion harnesses, Installs

Advanced Tuner
    If you have a MAF already incorporated into your build, why not use it? You still should tune the VVE, but you could put it in full MAF and tune both at the same time (see a recent post about this). Plus you are already familiar with MAF tuning. The blower kits that are supplied with a tune are often MAF only tunes with the VVE untouched, not that it is right.

Be sure to adjust your MAP zone boundaries for better resolution now that you will see boost, unless you are already starting out with an LSA cal?

Quote Originally Posted by Alvin View Post
    For a LSA especially modded I'd go SD all the way. Don't need a custom OS. A 2 bar OS may or may not be available to your OS anyway. Stock OS will work with VVE