Thread: E38 ECU issues controller x 36 unlocker exceeded numbers of attempt

Potential Tuner

E38 ECU issues controller x 36 unlocker exceeded numbers of attempt

I have a E38 ECU that I wrote a tune to a few weeks ago. I went out to add another tune to the ECU I attempted to read the data and I got an error controller x 36 unlocker exceeded numbers of attempt. My ECU is not locked why is this happening and what can I do to fix the issue VCM editor 4.8.7 E38 service # 12612384. I am very new to tuning what else do I need to supply to get help with this issue.

HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    sounds like you wrote a file from a newer E38 to an older E38 or vice versa, this will corrupt the NVRAM as outlined here http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28327
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

A wise man once said "google it"

Potential Tuner

Wanted to follow up for clarification please

Quote Originally Posted by Bill@HPTuners View Post
    sounds like you wrote a file from a newer E38 to an older E38 or vice versa, this will corrupt the NVRAM as outlined here http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28327
    Thank you for getting back to me so quickly. How do I avoid this from happening again? So are you saying the service tag on my old ECU needs to match or be compatible with the new ECU to work? The file you referring to from the newer to the older file is that the VCM editor version that was the problem or the ECM file?
    https://www.mrk-motorsports.com/stor...e-gm-12633238/

The file in the ECM. GM, between 2006 to around 2015, updated the E38 several times. Because of this, there are incompatibilities between different year tune files and ECM service numbers. Example: You wont be able to take a tune file from a 2015 camaro E38 and load it into a 2008 camaro E38 and vice versa. Doesn't matter what version of editor you use.

Potential Tuner